The lost knitting post

February 13, 2008 at 7:56 pm 5 comments

As I have been sucked back into the world of 60-70 hour work weeks, I’ve been neglecting my crafting (and my mental health along with it.) When I get crazy busy, I tend to write blog posts in spurts…I save off the drafts and post them one a day until they run out. My methodology leaves a nice gap for error such as this post. This has been lingering in draft form for a month! So here you go…the long lost knitting post about a very nice hat. (Yeah, that snow you see on the ground…that’s long gone now.) So thanks for sticking with me dear internet friends. And keep your eyes peeled as I have a few giveaways I need to do.

***
A nice stack of Cascade 220
none
(I love yarn cake stacks, don’t you?)

That yarn became this hat. (The green is leftover from Koolhaas.)
none

What you don’t see is the super soft lining knit from Debbie Bliss Baby Cashmerino. Cuz let’s face it, who wants Cascade 220 rubbing against their forehead. The free pattern is super simple and great for mindless knitting. Do you read the Purl Bee? If not, you should as they regularly post free projects.

The only mod I made (other than switching out yarn) is doing the “jogless stripe” technique so you didn’t have the slanting on the start of the round. It’s a great technique whenever your knitting stripes. It’s a great hat that’s super warm. And since that’s REAL snow on the ground in the pic, it’s just what was needed.

Entry filed under: Crafty, Knitting/Crochet. Tags: .

Enabler Stacks of joy

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Andrea  |  February 13, 2008 at 8:23 pm

    Love your hat! I’ve been tempted to try this pattern too but it seems a bit complex for my taste. And by the time I finished, it wouldn’t be cold…

    Reply
  • 2. kelp!  |  February 15, 2008 at 5:24 am

    Oooh, I love the colors that you chose for your hat! I’m a total sucker for that dark red-sky blue combo.

    Reply
  • 3. susan  |  February 16, 2008 at 10:14 am

    I love cascade 220, and I completely agree about seeing it all wound up and ready to go. :-) And the hat looks lovely. I just love that red!!

    Reply
  • 4. Alice  |  February 18, 2008 at 10:42 pm

    Love it! I’ve been wanting to try this pattern since it first came out, and seeing yours makes me want to knit it up even more. The colors you chose are perfect, as well :)

    Reply
  • 5. Cindy  |  February 23, 2008 at 7:44 am

    I love these colors together….simple, perfect!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Random thoughts about random things

foofanagle at gmail dot com

Archives


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 40 other followers

