What happened to the knitting?

May 20, 2009 at 5:00 pm 1 comment

So a few of you (ok…just two of you) have asked “where’d the knitting go?”

Right now, knitting consists of looking longingly at my UFOs sitting in various piles in my craft room. I love knitting. There’s a Zen-like quality to the soothing repetitive motion. I love the feel of the points hitting my index finger, the way the knit stitches nest into each other, and the smooth feel of the merino sliding through my hands.

But knitting takes time. And time is the one thing I have so very little of. Between work and the baby, I have maybe 1 hour at night before I collapse into bed and I usually try to spend that time with my husband.

So alas and alack, I don’t knit right now. But I sure do miss it. And I miss more than just the knitting. I miss that Zen time and what it represents. Being a mom is wonderful and I treasure every minute I have with my daughter. But my attention can only be divided in so many ways, and (as so many of you understand) the thing that tends to get sacrificed is the attention I give to myself. And both literally and figuratively, knitting represents that “me time” that I don’t have right now.

And look what happens when you knit for baby in advance:
none
The hat fits her perfectly! Just in time for Summer. D’oh!

And it’s pure decadence that I have a knitting night scheduled with some friends (including two moms-to-be) next week.

Entry filed under: Knitting/Crochet, Personal, The Speck. Tags: .

Product Review :: Sewline Fabric Pencils Giveaway Day in May is coming

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Janell  |  May 20, 2009 at 11:05 pm

    Girlfriend, you gotta an ASIAN baby! What a cutie. It’s too much.

    My guy looked 100% too, but once he hit about 2, he started to look more like Mike.

    What a doll!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Random thoughts about random things

foofanagle at gmail dot com

Archives


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 38 other followers

