When swaps go well

June 15, 2009 at 3:56 am 8 comments

Swaps – when they go well – are wonderful. But I must admit, I haven’t swapped in ages as awhile back I went through some horrible swaps. Too often, people never send their half of the swap or (to be frank) you don’t get something of equivalent “value” as what you send. Don’t even ask me about the time I swaped a huge set of Lantern Moon knitting needles and got a bunch of ugly poorly dyed (it was almost a blessing those ugly colors bled when the yarn got wet) cheap yarn in return.

That said – when a swap goes well…you have made a new friend and have received something that makes you smile when you open it and everytime you look/use it thereafter. And that’s just the type of swap I just had!

My swap package from Donna was huge and full of delights.
none

First and foremost…the coasters! Each one is a unique beauty. I’d say I was excited to use them, but as soon as my 7-month-old daughter saw them – they became mostly hers. I put them on the table and 5 minutes later she’s waving them in the air. The green one is a particular favorite (the picture above shows the front of it.)
none

But then Donna also sent a gorgeous handmade bib. I have to show you both sides since each one is a beauty. Considering how messy mealtime is getting with Quinn, I shudder at submitting this bib to that kind of torture.
none none

I can’t tell you how difficult it is to get a 7-month-old that just learned how to crawl to sit still for a bib show off shot.
none

Thanks Donna! I’m positively tickled with what you sent. And really, the best part is I’ve “met” someone I truly like and consider a new friend.

Entry filed under: Crafty, Sewing. Tags: , .

Orange you glad I made coasters?

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Stephanie  |  June 15, 2009 at 1:28 pm

    Such beautiful stuff. I can imagine doing a swap and not receiving equivalent things is incredibly frustrating. I would be soooo mad. I’m glad this one worked out for you.

    Reply
  • 2. jen  |  June 15, 2009 at 6:49 pm

    I use the nicer bibs to sop up the drool from my 4.5 mo. old. He’s like a faucet. This way they are still useful but remain mostly unstained.

    Reply
  • 3. jaybird  |  June 17, 2009 at 12:21 pm

    those coasters are priceless! congrats on getting cute stuff!

    Reply
  • 4. donna  |  June 19, 2009 at 1:45 am

    Aw, that’s so nice! I’m really happy with this swap too . .while I have had a good experience in a fabric swap, I did another one that didn’t go as well . .I had to write the person a few times to get them to mail and that wasn’t great!!

    I love my package too and am glad we ‘met’ via the swap!

    xx

    and you let Quinn dirty that bib!! That’s what it’s for! :)

    Reply
  • 5. urban craft  |  June 20, 2009 at 2:59 am

    What a lovely swap! You are right though, there are lots of swaps that people don’t follow through on. You scored!

    Reply
  • 6. Kate  |  June 25, 2009 at 1:41 pm

    Lovely stuff!
    Chevron scarf – mine pooled too, but when I left ot for a while and cam back to it I must have started knitting at a different tension and the colours moved so there are a couple of different sections of colour – hope that made sense. Using different size needles is a good idea!

    Reply
  • 7. zebazga  |  November 15, 2011 at 12:11 am

    Apologies for the question years after the fact, but could you tell me about the tea pouches? Thé glacé iced tea?

    Those are pouches containing tea leaves? An infusion? What’s the brand?

    I’m always looking for ways to make iced tea at work. Thanks for your time!

    Reply
  • 8. Rezepte  |  July 1, 2013 at 6:26 pm

    Wow really nice looking. I think you should sold these.

    Thank you for this great inspiration

    Rezepte Mike – From Germany

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Random thoughts about random things

foofanagle at gmail dot com

Archives


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 40 other followers

