An open letter to my beloved Koigu

June 22, 2005 at 3:07 pm 1 comment

Dear Beautiful Ball of Koigu,
You should have TOLD me that you didn’t want to be knit into a sock! I loved you all wrapped up in a near-perfect center-pull ball and would have happily left you in that state if you had just let me know that you were happiest that way.

Had you told me that the ball was what you were destined to be, I wouldn’t have cast you on.

Had you told me that you liked your insides all tucked away, I wouldn’t have tried a new pseudo-cable sock pattern on you.

Had you told me that all wrapped up was your happy place, I wouldn’t have had to frog you.

Seven times. SEVEN!

I didn’t want to cast you on only to realize I was off a stitch. I didn’t want to frog you and start again only to find out that I missed a YO. I didn’t want to KWT (knit while tired) and mess up again. And again. And again. And again.

Alas, we’ve gone done a tangled and frustrating path together, my dear Formerly-pretty center-pull ball. I still love your varigated stripes and soft, strokable plies. And I know you didn’t mean to turn into the frog of the week. So let’s make a pact to communicate better with each other next time. You tell me what you want to be knit into, and I won’t try to make you be a nasty old sock. I wasn’t that hot on that pattern anyway.

Let’s be friends again, ok?

Entry filed under: Knitting/Crochet, Rant.

We don’t need no stinkin’ ball winder! Call me a d… Pick it! Pick it real good…

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Baa Bonny Belle  |  July 11, 2005 at 8:57 pm

    Giggle…Very Cute Letter…Too funny. I’ll have to listen more carefully to the next skein of something soft and fun to knit with to make sure I’m on the right path. Now I know why those planned projects go south…the fiber is screaming, but can’t be heard. AKA: “Yarn, Interrupted”. LOL

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Random thoughts about random things

foofanagle at gmail dot com

Archives


