At least I have an FO to balance it all out.

July 11, 2005 at 1:35 pm 1 comment

Pictures of my stash enhancements from the 4th of July. I justified it by finishing my second Cascading Leaves sock.

Lopez Island has a number of spinners and a couple of farms that produce some nice wool. I only picked up some hand-dyed yarn from one of the spinners…but I’m kicking myself for not picking up more. I felt so bad about not getting more over the weekend I stopped at the LYS and got a few things to make it a real stash enhancement.
4th of July Stash

Koigu! Bummed that they only had one of the turquoise/black colorway. Oh well, improvisation is the mother of stash enhancement. The solid ball is darker than it appears in the photo so I think it’ll work together. And if not – there are always ankle socks to knit.
Glorious Koigu
And I am SO sold on the ball winder. See how neat and tidy my little balls are? I MUST have a ball winder. Of course, the store was sold out. I called a few other stores and even if they had one in stock it was $10 more expensive! Call me cheap, (c’mon, you know you want to say it – *cheap!*), but I’d rather wait for the first store to get more in stock than shell out ten extra bucks. I mean – that’s a whole new skein!

Underwater life or hand-dyed cotton/rayon from Lopez Island? 400 yards of this very soft yarn. I’m thinking of making a PINWHEEL BLANKET from it. I hope I have enough yardage…
Lopez hand dyed

Entry filed under: Knitting/Crochet, Stash.

The DRAMA of Independance Day It’s not as bad as it looks

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Anonymous  |  July 13, 2005 at 6:24 pm

    I found your blog from the Knittyboard and just wanted to mention that I bought my ball winder from Joann.com. You can often find 40% off coupons either in a flyer or by signing up for their newsletter. And they’ve been having lots of free shipping (over $30 or something) lately. Easy way to get a cheap ball winder! 🙂
    –Amanda (msubulldog)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Random thoughts about random things

foofanagle at gmail dot com

Archives


