Cast off: Anklets

July 20, 2005 at 3:28 pm Leave a comment

From the FREE pattern at The Blue Blog (Alison is freaking amazing): Ankle Socks

You know how some woman have these cute slender ankles with the bones delicately defined and smooth sweeping curves? Yah, well – this ain’t no romance novel dearies. So consider yourself warned…funky chunkly and oddly wrinkled ankles ahead. I’ve cropped the best I can to minimize viewer trauma.

Yarn: Cascade Fixation
Needles: US 5 DPNs
anklets

And from the side
anklet side
I love how the yarn knit up these little “targets” at the heels and toes.

This was my first time doing short row heels/toes and I’m in LURVE! Fun to knit? Check! No gusset stitches to pick up? DOUBLE CHECK! Short row heels are the way to go! My only question…is there a way to lengthen the heel a bit? You can see from above that the heel part (not counting the 4 rows of ribbing I did) is short indeed! I’d like the heel itself to come up a bit higher on my foot. Any suggestions on how to add rows without making it weird to join back with the instep?

And just to show how how lazy I truly am:
whoops
Can you see it? I got distracted and I turned the left sock inside out before I kitchener stiched it closed. So have this un-lovely ridge of stitches running along the left toe. But would I take the time to pull it out and start again? Hell no! Nobody’s going to see the toe but me and I’m on to other projects now.

Say it with me now…. BIRCH Birch birch birch bir….

Entry filed under: Knitting/Crochet.

Clap-edy That’s funny, I always thought of myself as a beaded cotton/rayon blend…

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Random thoughts about random things

foofanagle at gmail dot com

Archives


