Regis, I’d like to use my lifeline.

July 27, 2005 at 3:24 pm 3 comments

After my initial burst of knitting, progress on FBS has been slow. Darn work always gets in the way. So here we are last night…two rows short of another repeat being complete.
fbs_wide
This is the first time I’ve used a lifeline. I’m stuggling to memorize the pattern and my beloved hubby keeps on trying to talk to me while I’m counting. And for whatever reason I just cannot seem to keep my count correct on the second half of the repeat. Grrrr. Well, I’m so glad that little thread of Paton’s Cotton is running along there because…
fbs_oops
That pink circle is a missed YO. Go figure. The green cicle is another missed YO. The bright side is…I’m very GOOD at MISSING YOs. I mean…at least I’m good at something!

You may also note the lack of lifelines below the existing one. That just goes to show I’m slow on the pick up. It wasn’t until I was knitting back a row for the 6th time that I thought, “gee, maybe I should use a lifeline.” One thing to note about lifelines…they do you no good if you don’t put it in after you’ve knit passed a major mistake. And where’s that green circle? BELOW the lifeline! ARGH! But I cannot bear the thought of ripping back to the first mistake because I’ll never be able to pick the stitches correctly. So I’ll endure to mental anguish everytime I see that centerline oops and I’ll rip back to the lifeline to fix the other missed YO. And from now on, a lifeline is going in after each section repeat. Period.

And after all of this, I’m still only on my 5th repeat! That means I have 12…TWELVE…more to go. You know, if I wanted to perform a repetative task for hours on end I should be working on an assembly line. Instead, I decide to make it my hobby. Go figure.

Entry filed under: Knitting/Crochet.

Looks can be deceiving BATS in the Belfrey!

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Baa Bonny Belle  |  July 27, 2005 at 8:16 pm

    LOL, assembly line, you crack me up. Missing yo’s on the second section is my downfall too. As rocky as this repetative road is, I’m still enjoying it.

    It’s looking beautiful, yo missed or not.

    My current post mentions Knitasm….see blog. 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. Liberty's Yarn  |  July 28, 2005 at 4:51 pm

    Your FBS is inspiring! I frogged mine so many times that I lost count. And I love the color, do share what shade that is.

    Reply
  • 3. Baa Bonny Belle  |  July 30, 2005 at 6:20 am

    Ok…I’m cheatin’ on FBS, at least in thought in the moment. Have you ordered or have the Birch pattern, by Rowan? If so, where did you pick it up from? WW? or online? I’ll stay on FBS but I keep hearing “Birch, Birch” from all directions.

    I thought to ask you first, so I don’t look much like a knitting do-do head on the knitty board.

    Thanks for your help…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Random thoughts about random things

foofanagle at gmail dot com

Archives


