Charlie and the Slipper Factory

August 1, 2005 at 3:29 pm 1 comment

Since it has been ages since we’ve gone to the theater to see a movie and since it’s BLOODY HOT out, Michael and I decided to go see Charlie and the Chocolate Factory on Sunday.

Here’s the timeline of the events as they occurred.

11:30am –
Her: Let’s go see Charlie and the Chocolate Factory.
Him: Ok…what time is it showing?
Her: 12:30 or 4:00.
Him: Well, let’s do the noon showing…do you want to shower first? (Yes, it was 11am and I hadn’t showered yet. I know…I’m a disgrace.)
Her: Yep – I can be ready by noon and that gives us plenty of time to make it.

11:55am –
Her: I’m ready!
Him: Uhh huh (reading paper)

11:58am –
Her: I put the dog out and I’m ready to go!
Him: Oh. Ok. What time is it?
Her: Almost noon.
Him: Oh! We’d better get going. I’m ready…I just need to change my pants.
Her: *sigh*

12:04pm –
Him: I’m ready…I just need to put my shoes on.
Her: Ok. I’m ready too, I just need to finish this email.
Him: *sigh*

12:07pm –
Her: Let’s go.
Him: Ok. I need to put on my sandals.

12:08pm –
Him: *yawn* I’m really tired. I haven’t had any coffee yet.
Her: Well, you can get an Americano at the Starbuck’s next to the theater.
Him: Don’t they have espresso at the theater.
Her: Maybe…but would you want to drink it?

12:09pm –
Him: HA! HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHAHAHHAAA! Crap.
Her: What?!
Him: Oh. Uhhhhhmmmmm…nothing.
Her: Ummmm…WHAT?! What’s so funny?
Him: Well, we were in such a rush to get out of the house I put on my slippers instead of my sandals.
Her: WHAT?!
Him: Well, they’re right next to each other.
Her: *sigh* Well, let’s go back. We can still make it.
Him: Do you think anyone would notice?
Her: Well…at least they’re the moccasin style with soles. I guess I don’t care if you don’t.
Him: I don’t care either.
Her: God, how far we’ve fallen.

The movie was better than I thought it would be…but the shadow of the Gene Wilder version still hangs overhead. Michael successfully watched a movie in public in his slippers.

You know, it’s not as bad as the days I wear two different colored shoes to work.

Entry filed under: Nuggets. Tags: .

BATS in the Belfrey! So you want some knitting content eh?

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Baa Bonny Belle  |  August 2, 2005 at 4:18 am

    Bats, yarn shopping and slippers at the movies. I have to say you two had quite the fun weekend together. Good way to stay happily married and young, go with the flow.

    The blankie is adorable. I’ve never seen the pattern before. Great job as per the norm.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Random thoughts about random things

foofanagle at gmail dot com

Archives


