I’m the girl with the massive headgear, bottle glasses and acne.

August 3, 2005 at 2:30 pm 4 comments

Ok…so someone SOMEONE PLEASE tell me…what is the deal with Cotton Ease?

**(By the way – when Googling “Cotton Ease” don’t accidentally type “Bottom Ease.” You won’t get the results you were expecting. Trust me.)**

Ok…it’s a Cotton/Poly worsted weight blend. Well…so is Rowan Calmer. So WHY the frezny over this Lion Brand yarn. I mean…it’s LION BRAND! Lion Brand – the Duke of bargin bin acrylics. (Obviously, Red Heart is the KING…so Lion Brand is relegated to a lower tier royalty position.) Now, I’m the first to admit I’m a fiber snob. Synthetics are for reinforcing socks to me. But I’ve been branching out and have been picking up some of the nice new blends that are coming out. BUT IT’S LION BRAND! I just don’t get it. Of course, I’ve never actually seen the yarn first hand (apparently the CE Frenzy has hit the Seattle area because I can’t find any) so I’m willing to listen if someone can convince me this is THE yarn to knit with.

But now it seems like everyone on the internet has it and since I have none I’m starting to feel like I’m in 3rd grade and the only one without the coolest new toy. You know, in the world of knitting…those with Cotton Ease are the cheerleaders and I’m the one that doesn’t realize I have toilet paper stuck to the bottom of my posture-correcting shoes.

Cotton Ease – you are my Tamogatchi-Cabbage Patch Kid-Talking Elmo-Furby grown up popularity hell. AAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!

Entry filed under: Knitting/Crochet, Rant, Stash. Tags: .

You ask, I answer! Obsession – It’s not just a Calvin Klein perfume

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Tami  |  August 3, 2005 at 3:41 pm

    Don’t worry, you aren’t missing that much. I got caught up in the frenzy to buy all the CE I could find also, but I think it’s just because it’s discontinued. I do use it quite a bit for things I need to be washable, like baby blankets and hats. But it’s not the best yarn ever made!

    Reply
  • 2. Jessica  |  August 3, 2005 at 5:28 pm

    CE was the one decent yarn that Lion made. It was nice to work with and cheap. Now that’s it’s discontinued it’s even cheaper.

    Reply
  • 3. Jennifer  |  August 3, 2005 at 10:33 pm

    I don’t like Cotton Ease. Yes I did go to Tuesday Morning a couple of months ago and bought two bags of it (three balls for six bucks per bag – not bad) AND I used it to make my crumpets. But I didn’t like it – it was splitty and cheap feeling – I guess that is what you get for something that is cheap. Oh Well… you’re not missing out – I am not quite sure what I will do with my leftover 3+ balls.

    Reply
  • 4. Baa Bonny Belle  |  August 4, 2005 at 2:01 am

    Everyone is rushing to find the “last skeins” of CE…watch, they decided it was soooo popular, they bring it back. LOL I had one skein in a red that I used for Alex’s OSW. Of all the things I have knit her (socks, sweaters, etc), she wears the OSW all the time. I’ve totally lost my taste for novelty yarns and don’t have a single skein CE in my stash…so don’t feel alone Suzanne, you are not missing out on a thing. Your taste in yarns and color are above and beyond anything Lion Brand can dish out. How about “Koigu Princess”? Has a nice ring to it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Random thoughts about random things

foofanagle at gmail dot com

Archives


