Obsession – It’s not just a Calvin Klein perfume

August 4, 2005 at 3:58 pm 3 comments

It’s hard to believe but my obsessive crafting had an outlet before knitting. Paper! Scrapbooks, cards, stamps, quilling, origami, tissue paper flowers, blah blah blah. If it’s paper, I’ve done it.

My yarn stash is growing exponentially, but it’s still slim compared to my paper crafting hoard. So as evidence of my sick craft habits…my craft room.

Room1
1: Old loveseat that’s never used because the cushions always slip off.
2: 8.5×11 paper. Perfect for making cards and sitting in the storage rack collecting dust.
3: Computer station (Oh…did I mention I do graphic design and photo restoration too?)
4: A few stamps on the wall. Maybe…1/16 of my collection.
5: Paper punches. If I put them in a bag and swung it around, I could kill an elephant with them.
6: White drawers full of stamps. Full.
7: Look Ma! A treadmill. It’s not a clothes hanger yet…but let’s just say it’s not currently in heavy use.
8: Clapotis!

Room2
1: Craft desk. That’s about as much open work space that I ever have on that desk.
2: 12×12 paper storage. Well, most of it at least.
3: Close up on the stamps (if you can see the damn number)
4: Close up of some ink pads (if you can see the double damn number.) Maybe…1/8 of the inks I’ve collected. You know, if I ever have kids they’re going to have a blast staining their clothes with these.
5: Plastic drawers full of…more freakin’ stamps.
6: Beloved Wacom tablet that never gets used because I’m knitting.
7: More plastic drawers full of, say it with me now, “STAMPS!” (and some inks.)
8: On the desk – a pile of inspiration that isn’t inspiring anything as long as it’s in that darn stack.
9: My boring white walls that I detest but that I haven’t painted because I keep changing my mind on how I want to paint them. And plus…look at all the crap I’d have to move around if I did paint.

Room3
1: The yarn stash has started to invade PaperLand. A battle is bound to ensue.
2: You know, it’s really appalling how many stamps I have. Those drawers are packed full.
3: Little charms and knick knacks. Great for getting sucked up in the vacuum.
4: Book shelves of craft magazines and books. You should see my collection of fiction!
5: Ummm…did I mention I do beading stuff too? Well, here’s that shelf. *sigh*
6: You know, after an earthquake, I’m going to be a very unhappy camper.

Sheesh. Seeing it all laid out like that is really embarassing. How the HELL did I manage to collect all of that stuff? But between teaching classes, obsessive sale haunting and working at a stamp store for awhile I’ve managed to create my own little craft universe. So when you hear me say, “Come on over for a craft day – I have everything we’ll need” you know I’m not joking.

And obviously, there are no lingering thoughts about me being a neat freak.

Entry filed under: Crafty, Knitting/Crochet.

I’m the girl with the massive headgear, bottle glasses and acne. Baskets my @$$!!!

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Baa Bonny Belle  |  August 4, 2005 at 8:39 pm

    Suzanne, how very cool, I love, love, love your craft room. Hmmmm, four more years and maybe Alex will move out and I can take one of the kids’ room for my own and move out of my craft loft. Handsdown, you have tons of stampin’ stuff. Wow. I am impressed. Maybe once fall hits I’ll hit you up for a craft day…even if it’s knittin’. Off to finish 7th repeat on FBS, need to keep it small and to size of magazine so I can get it finished and blocked to turn in Sunday (tick-tock). Thanks for sharing.

    Reply
  • 2. Amy Boogie  |  August 4, 2005 at 9:22 pm

    That is one mighty impressive craft stash.

    Reply
  • 3. Knit-Elation  |  August 5, 2005 at 10:10 pm

    Wowie! Both me and my prismacolors are very jealous of this incredible room!!! Especially Margarita Limepeel, she is “green” with envy!!! *giggles*

    I feel honored just looking at it! What a crafter’s dream!!!! What a lucky, lucky, smart, intelligent, crafty girl you are! It takes a lot of skill and planning to get that many craft supplies past any significant other!

    I hope you will continue to pave the way for us hopeful crafters trying to build our stashes (or atleast post more pictures so that my hubby thinks my stash is small in comparison)!!

    Have a wonderful crafty day!! (K-E)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Random thoughts about random things

foofanagle at gmail dot com

Archives


