I’m not an addict…I’m an enthusiast!

August 16, 2005 at 2:33 pm 5 comments

I didn’t get any new yarn for over a week. That’s a good start for me! But alas, a trade and some online orders rolled in.

Damn you Knitpicks! Why do you keep coming out with new yarns? You know I can’t resist reasonably priced fibers. Below are 6 skeins of Shadow Merino Lace weight yarn and 3 skeins of it’s multi-colored companion Gossamer Merino Lace. The Gossamer is the Carribean colorway and I adore it. I think the Gossamer colorways are way more appealing than the Shimmer line. But that’s just me. Now the Shadow is in Redwood Forest and Oregon Coast. I cannot describe how much I adore the Oregon Coast. It looks like a simple oatmeal in the pic. But when you see this yarn it has this wonderful flecks of lavender, brown, sage…it’s all meshes into the perfect heathered yarn. This is intended for my mom’s Christmas gift. But I’m definitely getting more for myself.
none
As to the Shadow/Gossamer vs. Alpaca Cloud/Shimmer battle…
I think merino Shadow/Gossamer wins hands down. The fiber is more tightly plied and is less prone to splitting than the Alpaca lace yarns. They’re both very soft but toss in the rich hues and more usable colorways and I think Merino takes the day.

I have a dirty little secret. Ok, it’s not that dirty…but it is a secret. Ok…it’s not THAT secret, but it’s not something I tell people very often. I monitor stores for their Koigu shipments. Alas, Knithappens.net got their shipment in so I just HAD to pounce. 10 skeins of Koigu that will likely become shawls and scarves instead of socks and 2 skeins of Lorna’s Laces sock yarn in Knit Happens own colors. I love the pink and green and think they’ll make some excellent wavy striped socks.
none

And now for the grand finale. That’s 23…that’s right…TWENTY-THREE skeins of hand-dyed sock weight merino. I got all of this from Pihu (on Knittyboard.com) for some piddly Lantern Moon needles and Manos. My hubby’s eyes almost popped out of his head when he saw me open this box. I had to immediately soothe him with the fact it was a trade. It’s such a windfall though that I’m a bit stymied on what to do with it all. Keep in mind, each skein is 440 yards. So in this picture I have 10,120 YARDS of yarn. That’s 5.75 MILES of sock weight yarn. Ack! I have a feeling a good portion of this will become RAKs or trade fodder. But for now it’s all mine. MINE MINE MINE!
none
Isn’t it sooooooo purty??? Thank you Pihu/Julie for a great trade!

I’m literally awash in yarn. I want to throw it all in a big pile and roll around in it. (Too much information probably, eh?) Have I reached SABLE (Stash Acquisition Beyond Life Expectancy) status yet? I think this may have pushed me over the edge.

Entry filed under: Knitting/Crochet, Stash. Tags: .

Sometimes it’s not all about me. No more chocolate after 8pm

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mother of Chaos  |  August 16, 2005 at 5:29 pm

    Oh. My. Ever. Living. God.

    I am so jealous. Jealous-jealous-jealous.

    Those yarns look so sexy. I’ve been dying to try out the Knit Picks line…but, uh, I think I hit SABLE a while ago. And I keep thinking, “I really ought to put some of this up on eBay, clear out the stash…”

    But any time I start trying to decide which ones to put up for auction, I end up putting it all in a big pile and rolling around on it instead…🙂

    Reply
  • 2. Liz  |  August 16, 2005 at 6:18 pm

    You can add me to the jealous list too. All that yarn looks so yummy. I just put in an order for some Knitpicks Gossamer in that same colorway, and I can’t wait for it to get here!

    Reply
  • 3. goodkarma  |  August 16, 2005 at 11:08 pm

    Holy cow, it’s all so purty. Have fun planning your projects!!

    Reply
  • 4. Ann  |  August 20, 2005 at 11:33 pm

    Very nice colors. Dang that’s a lot of yarn girl.

    I read your post about the cupcakes as well. Cupcakes are sort of like knitting don’t you think? It’s about the experience while making them, don’t you think?

    Reply
  • 5. CBear  |  August 22, 2005 at 4:41 pm

    WOW! Just looking at all of that yarn makes me *jealous* Seeing all those beautiful colorways – I might just have to learn how to knit socks just to see those colors in person! 😉 Wonder if the Gossamer can be used in Clapotis? hmmmm… knitpicks, here I come!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Random thoughts about random things

foofanagle at gmail dot com

Archives


