Bunnies! Well…almost.

August 23, 2005 at 2:02 pm 6 comments

So when I found the ingenious pattern that lets you create an adorable stuffed bunny out of a single 6 inch square I knew I had to try it sooner or later. For a first pass, it’s not too bad…but I’ve definitely found areas that I can nip and tuck and sew better. My first creation doesn’t quite fully evoke a rabbit to me…but practice makes perfect.

In my ongoing quest to ruin your eyesight and display my fabulously lacking photography skills I present…the bunny/freaky-deaky mouse hybrid:

none

Don’t like the dark picture with the creature barely distinguishable from the background? Ok – how about one that’s overly bright and horribly out of focus? Who says there are no choices in life?

none

The nose and front legs are pointy because of the way I sewed the thing together. Did I mention how I am SO not a sewer? Well, here’s the proof. It’s why seaming sweaters or even blanket squares terrifies me. The ears are a bit wonky and the nose is pointy…so it has a bit of a mouse feel to me. It doesn’t help that I didn’t do the tail yet. I’m sure once I put a pom pom on the fanny it will look much more like a bunny. In the meantime I think of it as something that one might find in the Care Bear land sewers: furry…tail-less…and not quite cute enough to make the grade.

Here’s the deets:
Pattern: Ingenious Swatch Bunny
Yarn: (Who the heck cares on this thing?) Leftover Cascade 220 in a heathered pink
Needles: Size US8. I wish I had used 7s…it would have made a denser fabric.
Time: 2 hours from start to finish. Most of that was spent figuring out the seaming. Of course – no tail yet…

Entry filed under: Knitting/Crochet. Tags: .

Ch-ch-ch-changes… Fun with Google

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Liz  |  August 23, 2005 at 9:36 pm

    I love the idea of using a swatch to make a bunny. At least that way it wouldn’t seem like such a waste of yarn.

    Reply
  • 2. Baa Bonny Belle  |  August 23, 2005 at 11:46 pm

    Too cute. Now, tell me your secret how you find these so-adorable patterns to knit up? This little bunny would be sooooo cute with the pinwheel blankie.

    Reply
  • 3. deety  |  August 24, 2005 at 5:40 am

    I’ve seen that pattern but keep forgetting to try it. Your bunnies are adorable, I must make one!

    Reply
  • 4. gaile  |  August 24, 2005 at 3:17 pm

    I love the origami bunny pattern! And i think yours are super cute! They would make darling gifts tucked in with a baby basket! thanks for the comment on my blog – the yarn for Rogue was mission falls 1824 in Thyme.

    Reply
  • 5. Impossible Princess  |  August 24, 2005 at 4:31 pm

    that is TOOO cute! I have to make one!

    Reply
  • 6. Knit-Elation  |  August 25, 2005 at 7:25 pm

    I think these bunnies are adorable! I love them! They look cuddly!

    Hug to the Bunnies! (K-E)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Random thoughts about random things

foofanagle at gmail dot com

Archives


