It’s quiet…too quiet…

August 30, 2005 at 11:47 am 3 comments

I have a great baby bootie disaster to share and some new stash additions…but frickin’ frackin’ Photoshop is not cooperating. So no pics of awful knitting today.

Plus, I’m on a business trip in scenic (*snort*) Detroit so my internet access is spotty. Of course, I brought a knitting project with me. A fresh ball of yarn, size 10 wood needles, my travel knit kit and a simple openwork wrap pattern…easy, right? All of this was packed in my suitcase (not my purse) but I carried on both bags. Sadly, I forgot I had a pair of small, round tip scissors in my travel kit. So of course I was stopped at the security check point. I swear, the screener started shouting, “Bag check! BAG CHECK!” like his annual bonus relied on him isolating my scissors for removal. So he pawed through my bag, squeezed my yarn mercilessly – HEY, that’s silk damnit – and confiscated my scissors. *sigh* My poor yarn. So hopefully I don’t have to snip anything this week because I don’t have nail clippers and my teeth aren’t sharp enough…yet. If I keep on gnashing them, I might have some good yarn chompers soon.

I’m going to go talk sweetly to Photoshop for awhile now to see if it’ll let me resize my pics. “C’mon baby…just this once. You’re the best little photo manipulation program ever. Yes you are! Yes you are. Gooooooood Photoshop. Goooood.”

Entry filed under: Nuggets. Tags: .

Fun with Google Moss stitch, seed stitch – call it what you want.

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Anonymous  |  August 30, 2005 at 9:15 pm

    Do you still need the ladybird pattern?

    Reply
  • 2. Ann  |  August 31, 2005 at 12:10 am

    I’ve had that happen too. Actually I bought a pair of foldable scissors and had them in the bottom of my purse and forgot about them all the way to New York and back. The next trip I figured why not bring them (knowing that they were probably illegal) and the scanner person got them. I just gave them away, I wasn’t going to mail them to myself as I was late.

    After seeing it in a mag though I got the Clover Thread Cutter and that’s been awesome and no one bothers me about it at all. I’ve seen a different model for sale in LYS that’s meant for thicker yarns but even the small one will work with a few jabs on thicker yarn.

    Reply
  • 3. Baa Bonny Belle  |  September 1, 2005 at 12:17 am

    I was going to suggest the Clover Thread Cutter also. Poor silk yarn…having to be “man-handled” in such a way. Glad they didn’t take the yarn thinking it was an accomplice to the scissors…have a safe flight back.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Random thoughts about random things

foofanagle at gmail dot com

Archives


