Moss stitch, seed stitch – call it what you want.

August 31, 2005 at 4:06 pm 4 comments

What’s in a name? Moss or seed – I hate it!!!
Now you may ask, “Why on earth would you hate such a lovely little textured stitch?” Well you know what they say about pictures and thousands of words.
none

Oy! Oh…it gets worse…
none
How the heck do you seam seed stitch? Obviously, I haven’t figured out the trick. Isn’t this just horrible? It’s laughably horrible. I didn’t rip it out because it’s so awful I thought it deserved preservation. I’ll put this on my Shelf of Shame as a constant reminder that I should never get too ambitious with my seaming.

So I’ve abandoned the Debbie Bliss Moss Stitch booties in favor of these:
none

See, isn’t this much better?
none

Oh sure, I accidentally seamed it inside out so the toe is uneven. But I can fix that easily. I love this pattern. It knits up fast (Rowan Kid Classic) and they’re so darn cute. I’ve got to make two pairs…one with the lighter base and one with the darker base. I figure about 1.5 – 2 hours per pair. They’re that fast!

I mean really – which one would you prefer? Be honest!
none
Yeah, that’s what I thought.

Entry filed under: Knitting/Crochet. Tags: .

It’s quiet…too quiet… Thank you, Secret Pal!

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Baa Bonny Belle  |  September 1, 2005 at 12:21 am

    I see the dilema…I’m not a big fan of seed stitch and tend to back away from anything mentioning it, esp. with seams.

    So do tell, where is the little garter stitch bootie pattern from? Love the colorways you chose. If these little beauties get man-handled, scream “Perv” a few times…people will stop to stare and I’m sure the guy will leave em’ alone out of embarrassment. I have a pattern from Canvas Works (Olympia) that came with a cute little baby hat/bootie kit, let’s see if it’s worth a knit up. I’ll check back for answer on cute pattern.

    Reply
  • 2. Leslie  |  September 2, 2005 at 11:58 am

    I just finished a pair of seed stitch booties, too, so I know what you mean about seaming. Why can’t someone come up with a seamless pattern? I still think they’re cute, though. If you gave them a quick bath, thing might even out. Anyway, I do love the garter stitch bootie as well. I went to the library yesterday in search of new bootie patterns and hopefully I’ll be trying something different soon. There’s still a wonderful “awww” factor no matter what!

    Reply
  • 3. CBear  |  September 8, 2005 at 5:39 am

    You’ve been tagged with a meme. Check CBear19’s blog. Questions are there!

    Reply
  • 4. Sandy Youngman  |  January 10, 2010 at 9:22 pm

    How can I see the pictures all I see is a Red X where the picture should be – thanks

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Random thoughts about random things

foofanagle at gmail dot com

Archives


