Chocolate first, knitting second

September 12, 2005 at 2:32 pm 4 comments

I just realized that I didn’t take pics of the new sock I cast on over the weekend. I was too busy taking (bad) photos of my cupcakes!

It feels like it’s been eons since I’ve baked…it’s been so darned hot – who wants to turn on the ovens? But sure enough, as soon as we had a few days in a row of cool overcast weather…the baking bug kicked in.

I’m vying to be Miss Popular Monday at the office with these babies:
none
Mini Cupcakes! (I even remembered to put a quarter in the pic for size reference!)

Actually, my whole Sunday evening was dedicated to cupcakes. I actually did regular sized cupcakes first. I’ve been totally inspired by Not Martha. These are the same recipe she’s been playing with.

I don’t know about you but when I see this I see wasted cupcake!
none

So the trusty scraper had to be pulled into duty to make sure not a drop was wasted.
none

25 minutes in the oven (even through the recipe said 18-20…I wonder if I need to recalibrate) and voila!
none

I made the buttercream frosting from scratch…with a REAL vanilla bean. Oooooohhhhh. Ahhhhhhhhh. Violet coloring for the biggies and yellow for the minis. I don’t know why. Maybe it’s because I’m a Husky at heart.
none

Obviously, I’m not the best on the decorating front. This was my best attempt and it’s just so-so.
none
But really…who cares?! These are for eatin’ not lookin’! And let me tell you, I love this recipe! The cake has perfect texture and has a nice bite from the bittersweet chocolate. But the frosting keeps it from being too sharp. And when the frosting is fresh out of the mixer it is SO light and airy…you can hardly tell you’re consuming a coronary’s worth of butter and sugar.

***
We also went to the Mariners game to watch them lose. It was still neat seeing our phenom 19-year-old pitcher. And hey, as long as I get a jumbo pretzel I’m a happy camper. All in all, it was a very satisfying weekend.

Entry filed under: Cooking. Tags: .

Random thought… For realsie this time

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mother of Chaos  |  September 12, 2005 at 3:09 pm

    Great. This I need first thing on a Monday morning – chocolate cravings.🙂

    They look gorgeous. Don’t knock your decorating!!

    Reply
  • 2. Knit-Elation  |  September 12, 2005 at 3:36 pm

    Ooooh! Those cupcakes look so yummy that I want to eat them right off your blog, but I wouldnt dare cause they are to pretty to eat!

    There is a new cupcake store in Bellevue Square and your cupcakes are far more beautiful! Maybe you should open your own shop! I would be there all the time for a cupcake with an extra helping of your wit and charm!

    Hugs! (K-E)

    Reply
  • 3. craftymodster  |  September 12, 2005 at 9:13 pm

    I love cupcakes! You did such a nice job (one that I could never do so well. Believe me, I’ve tried to cake-cookie-n-cupcake decorate. ugh.). OK. Now I’m starving for some reason (or maybe drooling is more apt). Doi!

    Anjo

    Reply
  • 4. d-made  |  September 12, 2005 at 10:04 pm

    I am also inspired today by No Martha’s cupcakes – earlier I printed out the buttercream recipe. I’ll try to hold off – I know when it gets cold – I start to get really hungry for baking.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Random thoughts about random things

foofanagle at gmail dot com

Archives


