For realsie this time

September 15, 2005 at 3:12 pm 4 comments

I’ve had a horrible-awful-terrible-no-good week at work. Really…the badness level of my bad week is so bad that it is biggety-bad-bad-bad. If my bad week was a WWF (or WWE…whatever) wrestler it would be Andre The Giant bad.

So whats an overworked, tired, grumpy gal to do? Well, DUH! A trip to an LYS! I was going to get some Rowan Cotton Glace or Koigu (damnit…when will a local store get more Koigu???) but then I saw this:

*insert the-clouds-part-and-a-beam-of-sunshine-shoots-through music here*
none
It’s Mountain Goat (55% Mohair, 45% Wool) from Mountain Colors (makers of the famous Bear Foot sock yarn) and I LURVE it so much. There’s no goat hair in it which I find oddly dissapointing.
***Ok, so I just found out that Mohair is from goats! You learn something new everyday. So now the Mountain Goat yarn name makes much more sense. But does that mean BearFoot has Grizzly hair??? Thanks for straightening me out Jessica!***
But no matter because this yarn is very soft, has a beautiful ply and the perfect Mohair halo. And c’mon…look at those colors! So, what’s it for you may ask…

Well – I’m FINALLY going to make a REAL Flower Basket Shawl! (As opposed to the “eeeee-diot” moment I had with my Lace Leaf Shawl.)
none
I was going to use bamboo yarn for my FBS after I saw Baa Bonney Belle’s blue-ribbon-winning FBS. But when I saw this Mountain Goat I just KNEW this was meant to be my FBS.

I cast on and finished the first section last night. No pics yet but I love knitting with this yarn. It feels great, knits up quickly and the colors have the perfect amount of varigation to add life without distracting from the lovely lace. Honestly, 24 rows of the FBS and a lot of my icky week went away. Well…another batch of chocolate cupcakes also helped.

RANDOM
Did anyone else notice how many dang hyphens I used in this post? Man…usually I’m all about the ellipsis…but I guess today is just a hyphen kind of day. I can’t wait until I have an exclaimation point kind of day. Now THAT should be quite the post.🙂

Entry filed under: Knitting/Crochet, Stash. Tags: .

Chocolate first, knitting second 2 down, 5 to go?

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jessica  |  September 15, 2005 at 7:00 pm

    Uh oh. Comment spammers. Blech.

    You know that mohair is from goats, right? http://www.mohairusa.com/

    Reply
  • 2. goodkarma  |  September 15, 2005 at 10:39 pm

    Ha! Your posts always make me laugh. I’m sorry you’re having a rotten work week. I hope that gorgeous yarn helps to make things all better!! The colorway looks all cinnamony and warm… pretttttyyyyy. Enjoy!

    Reply
  • 3. Baa Bonny Belle  |  September 16, 2005 at 5:46 am

    Ok Suzanne…only one more day to the work week…we can do it. Sorry to hear the week was icky…but omg…I love the yarn. I can’t wait to see the first pics you take of the FBS. I wore mine last week with a black shirt dress, I got a few ooohhh’s and ahhh’s. Loved it.

    I check daily to see what you are up to, maybe pics by this weekend?

    Lots of chocolate-to get through Friday…ummmm, we have a “margarita” after work planned, noticed, just “a” for one. Yeah, right! 🙂

    Reply
  • 4. Knit-Elation  |  September 16, 2005 at 3:25 pm

    I am so so so sorry about your bad work week! *hugs* I hope it will get better soon!

    This yarn is so pretty I almost want to eat it! Is that wrong? I hope you will have lots of fun with it though! Lick it a little for me! *tee hee*

    Have a great day! (K-E)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Random thoughts about random things

foofanagle at gmail dot com

Archives


