2 down, 5 to go?

September 16, 2005 at 1:30 pm 4 comments

I am having so much fun knitting the Flower Basket Shawl. It’s an easy pattern to follow and because I’m using a heavier guage it’s knitting up quickly. I’ve got the first 2 repeats of the lower shawl done…and the pattern calls for 7 total. I think I could finish over the weekend. But I’m really wanting a slightly larger shawl than the pattern offers up…so I’m wondering if I can squeak out another repeat before I switch to the edging. Baa Bonny Belle had a ton of yarn left over after she knit to pattern…I wonder if that’s scientific enough proof for me to think I can add a repeat.

Let’s see…
SWTC Bamboo= 250 yds per ball, Gauge: 5 sts per 1″ US 6
Mountain Goat= 240 yds per ball, Gauge: 5 sts per 1″ US 6-8 (I’m using US7 needles…and I knit tightly.)
Therefore, if Sherill had roughly 7/8 of a ball leftover that should instantly mean I should have about the same amount of left over yarn if I knit to pattern. Ergo…I can add a repeat!

Ok…so obviously I wasn’t a math major. Anyone out there with FBS experience have a recommendation? My concern is that if I run out of yarn I won’t be able to come close to matching it. Even at the store there was a huge amount of difference between skeins in the SAME dyelot!!! I’m alternating between my skeins to blend it better. But obviously if I run out of yarn I won’t be able to mix in an extra skein. So do I go to 8 or not???

Well, before I go…I took a pic! This is after the first section and 1 repeat. If you squint just right you can see the baskets shaping up. But baskets schmaskets! Aren’t the colors knitting up beautifully? It’s exactly what I was hoping for! (And we all know how rarely that happens.)
none

Finally, if you haven’t knit with Mountain Goat yet…get off your duff and go buy some. It’s amazing stuff. I can’t wait to make another project with it!

Entry filed under: Knitting/Crochet. Tags: .

For realsie this time I’m going for 9!

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Knit-Elation  |  September 16, 2005 at 3:31 pm

    Oh… that is funny because I knit with mountain goats all the time! They come over for Stitch n’Bitch and we have a riotous good time (besides they are cheep dates, just a big bowl of grass and some cheetos and they are good to go!)

    However, I don’t think that is what you meant! I will have to look for this “Mountain Goat” cause it is luverly!

    Your Flower Basket is Looking GORGEOUS!

    Have a fantastic day! (K-E)

    Reply
  • 2. Jessica  |  September 16, 2005 at 3:42 pm

    I have a triangular shawl calculator on my blog (it’s in the side bar). You can see how much you’ve knit then calculate how much yarn you’ll need.

    Reply
  • 3. Liz  |  September 16, 2005 at 7:01 pm

    The colors are looking gorgeous!. I’ve never knit a triangular shawl of anykind so I can’t help you with your math. I can’t wait to see how it turns out though.

    Reply
  • 4. Baa Bonny Belle  |  September 17, 2005 at 3:15 am

    You are coming along on the FBS just beautifully. As for the math…I say go for it. You could always add a lifeline at the end of the last pattern repeat before you add in your extra repeat rows…just incase you have to rip back to lifeline to have enough yarn to finish edge rows. I think you could most likely do one and possibly two extra repeats if the yardage is coming out about the same. I love the edge row finishing on this shawl…I’d make it again, but a bit larger…maybe I should try the Mountain Goat yarn?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Random thoughts about random things

foofanagle at gmail dot com

Archives


