Cast off: Flower Basket Shawl

September 20, 2005 at 3:30 am 7 comments

From this:
none

To this:
none

To this:
none

To warm fuzzy loveliness:
none

I love the miracle of blocking. It’s like magic to me. If you can see in the pics, the unblocked, pre-soaked shawl was about 40″ across. A bath and a stretch and voila! 60 inches of good Flower Basket love, baby! (And really, a bath and a stretch does anyone good!)

A close up…
none
Of course, the colors in these pics are way off. Darn flash. In real life it’s a really warm cinnamon-y brown shot through with magenta and gold. The best shot of the colors is in the above pic of the hanks. *sigh* I really need to take more blog pictures in natural light.

I ADORED this pattern. This shawl is all for me, but I definitely think my mom might be getting one for Christmas. (I was going to do Ene’s Scarf from Scarf Style for her but…nahhhhh.) The repeat is simple and goes quickly, the result is stunning and looks complicated and the edging and binding off technique is so clever.

Details:
Pattern: Flower Basket Shawl from Fiber Trends
Yarn: Mountain Goat from Mountain Colors. 55% Mohair, 45% Wool. I used about 400 yards – less than 2 skeins.
Needles: US7 circular
Knitting Time: ~14 hours

Lesson’s Learned
1) I do NOT need to knit a shawl in a weekend.
2) Typing after 10 hours of straight knitting is not a good idea.
3) I wish I had some Addi Natura needles instead of my Clover Bamboo circulars. My yarn continuously snagged at the cable/needle joint. Grrrrr.
4) I need to control the desire to knit everything out of Mountain Goat.
5) I will not brag about being a quick purler ever again.

Entry filed under: Knitting/Crochet. Tags: .

I’m going for 9! Ever have one of THOSE days?

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. deety  |  September 20, 2005 at 8:27 am

    Wow!

    That shawl is really amazing. It’s stunning.

    Reply
  • 2. AprilBrokenA  |  September 20, 2005 at 1:49 pm

    That is beautiful!

    April

    Reply
  • 3. Amy Boogie  |  September 20, 2005 at 4:29 pm

    Your shawl is gorgeous.
    *I dont need Mountain goat yarn,I dont need Mountain goat yarn,I dont need Mountain goat yarn,*

    Reply
  • 4. Ruth  |  September 20, 2005 at 7:03 pm

    The shawl is simply stunning. I’ve been looking for a yarn to use for another FBS … and think you just solved my problem for me.

    Reply
  • 5. Terby  |  September 20, 2005 at 11:03 pm

    Only 2 skeins? Hmmm. It’s really really pretty…

    *I don’t need an FBS I don’t need an FBS* mutter mutter

    Reply
  • 6. Baa Bonny Belle  |  September 22, 2005 at 12:55 pm

    Suzanne, “F-A-B-U-L-O-U-S”…the shawl turned out beautifully…and yes, it would make a great piece for your Mom for Christmas. I am sorry to hear it met with a latte distaster at work…but thankfully it is washable and blockable once again.

    You did a great piece and in such a short time…

    Reply
  • 7. gaile  |  September 23, 2005 at 9:03 pm

    stunning! don’t you just love mountain colors yarn! I want to roll in it. you know, that clapotis of mine might just get ripped out and turned into an FBS this winter, now that I think of it. Really fabulous knitting you did!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Random thoughts about random things

foofanagle at gmail dot com

Archives


