I should have paid more attention to Sesame Street

September 28, 2005 at 2:12 pm 2 comments

Remember the Count from Sesame Street? “One…One little kitty! Two…TWO little kitties! THREE! THREE LITTLE KITTIES!” I always thought his cute little felt fangs were so funny.

I cast on for Ene last night. I was afraid of Birch and it’s 299 stitches to cast on. But Ene and her 375 (that’s right…THREE HUNDRED AND SEVENTY-FIVE) cast on stitches just about killed me. I REALLY need to get pointier circulars than my Clovers.

But I did it. And I counted correctly. And I was happy. It was late but I figured I could finish one row. It wasn’t until I had only 32 stitches left to knit that I realized I had messed up somewhere. Thanks to the magic of stitch markers I counted back and I realized that I had counted the first section of the row as a repeat. So instead of a lead-in section and 11 repeats before the center stitch I have a lead-in section and 10 repeats before the center stitch. Grumble grumble grumble.

So I finished up the row and just added the missing repeat on the second side of the row. It will mess up the pattern but I’m trying ot figure out if it REALLY matters on this pattern or not. I mean…it’s just the first row, I still have the right number of stitches and I REALLY don’t want to frog and cast on again. (Needless to say there’s no way in hell I’m going to tink back 375 stitches.)

So it took me 2.5 hours to get this done…and it’s not even right.
none

Anyone have some Sesame Street DVDs they want to lend me?

Entry filed under: Knitting/Crochet. Tags: .

God Save the Queen Of fill do woeful

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jessica  |  September 28, 2005 at 6:45 pm

    Copy cat! I cast on for Ene and did the first row wrong too. I ended up ripping it all out and starting over. It was less stressful than tinking 375 lace stitches.

    Reply
  • 2. Baa Bonny Belle  |  September 30, 2005 at 3:24 am

    I vote for frogging over tinking. 375 sts, huh? Sounds masocistic (sp?), but you are a wonder and I know you will prevail through this one.

    Did I miss what you are making Ene out of? I’m sure it’s something smashing as you have excellent yarn taste.

    Hope you have a vundy weekend.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Random thoughts about random things

foofanagle at gmail dot com

Archives


