I attack your moonbase with my…sock!

October 3, 2005 at 2:03 pm 2 comments

What a perfectly lovely weekend…in a really nerdy way. Since Autumn has arrived in force, the weather was perfect for a cozy weekend inside. While the wind blew, the clouds hovered and the rain drizzled, hubby and I and friend “geeked out” (as the kids say).

none

We played Risk 2210 AD. Each game lasts 3.5-4 hours (!) and since our friend and my hubby weigh EVERY decision with the strategic intensity of the Joint Chiefs of Staff…the game has a way of dragging oooonnnnnnnnnnnnnnnn.

But what’s that in the background?

none

AH HA! It’s my SECRET WEAPON. Thankfully my Angel’s Rest sock volunteered to keep my hands busy while I sat and watched the two guys make intense expressions with their faces. I love playing games…but really – those guys take it SO seriously.

For those of you that know anything about Risk, I’m the tan pieces…and you can see on the board – for all of the guys’ efforts – I’m still kicking their butts.

***

In other knitting news…I finished row FOUR of Ene’s Scarf. I can’t believe this thing is taking so darned long. But I did rip out my messed up first attempt and cast on the THREE HUNDRED AND SEVENTY FIVE stitches…AGAIN! I also bought some Addi Natura’s to make the knitting easier. The points are much better than the Clover’s so the K2TOGs are much easier. But the joint between the metal and the needle on the Addi’s is a death trap for the lace weight Shadow I’m using. So I don’t think I’ve gained anything. I have to dig out a ton of stitches from the damn groove…so progress is slow and I’m already thinking about different scarves/wraps I could be knitting with less aggravation.

To ease my lace drudgery, I grabbed some Blue Sky Organic Cotton and cast on for Baby Bobbi Bear. I’ve got it on a 16″ circular, but I’m thinking I need to transfer it to DPNs because I’m stretching the stitches too much. The fabric seems really loose (no – I didn’t check guage before I CO) and I think the stuffing will show…so I may frog and start again. For some reason, the concept of frogging a bear makes me laugh. Visions of Kermit and Fozzie Bear come to mind…

Entry filed under: Games, General Geekery, Knitting/Crochet.

Of fill do woeful Big changes…no knitting

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Baa Bonny Belle  |  October 4, 2005 at 12:17 am

    LOL…you are too funny. Where do you come up with some of this stuff…Kermit and Fozzie Bear. (giggle) Good to hear your Ene’s Scarf was started anew…sorry to hear the new needles are giving you trouble. Isn’t there some special, wonderful, very pointy needles just for lace. No wonder I was taking my Clover Bamboo’s to the pencil sharpener…I hated digging into those stitches.

    Have fun with the Bobbi Bear…cute!

    Reply
  • 2. rogueknitter  |  October 20, 2005 at 3:41 pm

    Risk 2210! I have that game! We haven’t played in ages, though. Of course, that’s mostly because I never win and I get angry at the fact that my dice rolling skills are so awful. And now I want to play, but DB is away for two weeks. 😦

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Random thoughts about random things

foofanagle at gmail dot com

Archives


