October Lemon

October 11, 2005 at 3:14 pm 4 comments

Somehow as a kid I turned “eleven” into “lemon” and since today is my dad’s b-day…October Lemon is forever emblazoned in my mind. And with that sentence…commence the random rambling!

I just bought THIS. I can’t wait to work this one up. Sure, it may be Ene stays at her measley six rows forever…but this pattern looks so much simpler (and I’m going to work it up in sport or DK weight yarn).

The bear (no pics, sorry) has an arm stub and amputated ears right now. I didn’t realize that you pick up the armhole stitches and knit the arms on. Ugh. Maybe it’s just me, but knitting in the round whilst smooshing bits of the bear in to get the needles angled is a hassle. I’m knitting really tightly too because it’s so awkward so my hands and shoulder start to hurt. I’m also realizing that I don’t like the way this pattern is written at all. (If you are planning on making this bear…the ears on the pattern I have are wrong and the errata is on the website.) For the ears I’m supposed to fold them in half lengthwise (ok…I get that part) and then “attach to the head.” Ummm…thanks for the really descriptive directions guys! Any suggestions on how to go about that? Maybe for those toy makers out there, there’s a standard ear attaching method. Who knows? There could be an entire book about attaching ears out there (and there probably is) but for us novices it sure would be nice to have a few more details. So I’m going to have to wing it and I anticipate much ripping and swearing.

So in my anti-arm funk…I cast on for a new Clapotis. I mean, can one have too many Clapotis? (What the heck is the plural of Clapotis??? Clapotee? Clapotises? Clapotouse?) I’m using Koigu Kersti for this one and it’s loverly. I’ll flash some pics tonight.

Blog Rec
Normally, this BLOG makes me laugh. it’s a local nerdy guy. But today, his story about horseradish brought me to tears. You should take a read. I’m not a mom yet…but I imaging it pretty much captures the emotional center of parenthood.

Movie Rec
SERENITY
It actually reminded me of the thrill of seeing Star Wars for the first time. It’s got humor, action, tragedy, adventure, romance all tied together by some great dialogue and snappy characters. Sure, it’s not as snazzy as some of the big budget movies out there…and this isn’t necessarily Oscar time…but if you want a good flick for a couple hours escape – this should rock your world.

Entry filed under: Knitting/Crochet, Movies, Nuggets. Tags: .

Scary Bear! It’s raining Koigu, hallelujah! (to the tune "It’s raining men")

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Knit-Elation  |  October 11, 2005 at 7:19 pm

    Happy October Lemon Day to you and Happy Birthday to your dad!!!!

    I am sorry it has taken me soooo long to get back to you:

    The Daisy Pin class is this weekend at Beads and Beyond in Bellevue. I think there is another one in December to! I can’t wait it seems like it will be lots of fun! It would eb a delight to see you there!

    Have a Great Week (K-E)

    Reply
  • 2. Leslie  |  October 11, 2005 at 8:08 pm

    Thanks for the link to the Bobbi Bear errata. I’m still looking for the right yarn to finish my baby bear (I ran out just before the ears) but I wasn’t aware of any mistakes in the pattern. I agree about knitting on the arms after the bear is stuffed…it’s not easy. I did decided to embroider the face on before I finished the arms, so I’d have access to the “inside” of the bear to simplify the sewing. Good luck finishing yours!

    Reply
  • 3. Libby  |  October 11, 2005 at 8:14 pm

    Daisy Pins? That sounds like fun…happy October Lemon to you!😀 I’m so tired I don’t really have anything witty to say, but I’m posting new Vegas pix on my site if you want to see them!

    Let’s talk more later about Pups & Purls, K?

    Reply
  • 4. Baa Bonny Belle  |  October 12, 2005 at 3:11 am

    You are a busy bee…can’t wait to see the bear when done. And the Portland trip sounded lovely. Three weeks till Knitting Retreat, I can’t wait…I’m sure that weekend will fly by and I’ll be back to the old grindstone.

    Another shawl…cool.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Random thoughts about random things

foofanagle at gmail dot com

Archives


