No travel my @$$

November 4, 2005 at 5:10 am 2 comments

So one of the questions I asked when I was interviewing for my new job was “how much travel is required?”

I asked this question because I had just spent the last two years of my life trekking between Seattle and Detroit at least every other month. (There was that one month when I got to make the trip 3 times…) And besides the fact that scenic downtown Detroit isn’t exactly a hotspot I was just TIRED of being cramped into little metal tubes streaking through the air while inhaling the recycled germs of the wheezing old guy 18 rows back and trying not to stare at the bald pate of the man in the seat in front of me. Shiny…shiny…hairy…eww. And no offense to any Michigan residents reading this but…after the 12th time, the WORLD’S LARGEST TIRE kind of loses it’s novelty, ya know?

The answer my company gave me was, “Travel? I don’t think you’ll need to travel at all. Maybe on the rare occassion, but in general I’d say NO TRAVEL WILL BE REQUIRED.”

I’ve just settled in at home from my 3 day trip to Milwaukee, WI. That means I left on the 6th day on the job. That’s right…it took just SIX FREAKING DAYS for them to ship me to MILWAUKEE. (My mom’s from Wisconsin, I have enough cheeseheads already. When do I get to go to New York or Paris, eh?) And now…now I’m getting ready to head down to Portland tomorrow morning. To make the meetings on time I need to leave at 5am. All this adds up to two out of state business trips within my first two weeks on the job.

Sadly, this means I’m too tired and too full of bratwurst to post my seaming lessons. Not much knitting has happened either but I did finish something before I left. It’s cute and fun and bright and has been begging to have it’s moment on the web. So here’s a little sneak peek:
none

I’ll be back and less witchy this weekend.

Are there any air travel jokes that haven’t been done yet? It’s probably passe to complain about flying.

Entry filed under: Nuggets, Rant. Tags: .

Eek! A mouse! Could y’all please not be so prolific

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Baa Bonny Belle  |  November 4, 2005 at 6:18 am

    I check your blog everyday as I wait for new postings…what in the world is going on with you and the company sending you out/about in such a short time? Maybe it was the free pop and Audrey being able to go to work with you that they would hope you would totally miss the travel question.

    I’m sorry to hear you have been gone so much and have not got in any serious knitting time.

    I’ll be keeping my fingers crossed that you get a restful weekend…until then, chin up and needles ready.

    Reply
  • 2. Libby  |  November 4, 2005 at 5:38 pm

    Seriously, I know you don’t work for the BIG M in Redmond, because they let you take your dog…but SERIOUSLY PEOPLE! Who leaves on the 6th day of the job?

    They told me no travel would be required for this job, but they’re sending me to Tahoe for 4 days right before Christmas. For no particular reason, other than to tag along to a sales meeting. I’M A GLORIFIED SECRETARY FOR PETE’S SAKE!!

    Oh well, free semi-vacation.

    Don’t have any good air travel jokes…will try to find one.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Random thoughts about random things

foofanagle at gmail dot com

Archives


