Stashing Up

August 2, 2006 at 1:38 am Leave a comment

Lovely new KnitPicks yarns!

Gloss:

70% wool, 30 % silk in Burgundy and Dusk
Initial impressions (of course, I haven’t even swatched yet so take it with a grain of salt):

It has a bit of the silk “crunch” but lacks some of the softness. There’s a definite sheen to it…but not as much as I had hoped for. The ply is decent and it’s not too fuzzy. And the colors are just so delicious. It’s a nice rich reddish burgundy and a love rich not-too-bright blue.

Swish – Superwash in Baby Blue

So, the excitement of superwash from KnitPicks is pretty high. And again, I have’t even swatched yet – but my first impression is very positive! The yarn is SOFT! I think it’s noticeably softer than Cascade 220 Superwash. The color is perfect for a baby outfit…a nice soft blue. In the past, I’ve had issues with KnitPicks yarn looking much brighter/garish than I was expecting. But these 3 skeins are perfect. I’m going to swatch soon and put it through the wash to see how SUPERwash it really is.

And there were more KnitPicks Options needle tips and some DPNs too. I must say, Kathy’s concern about weight didn’t phase me at all…until I got the DPNS. The Options line I don’t really notice the weight at all…and the tip and flexible cord make up for it. But these DPNs…I noticed right away they they felt heavier to me. Hrm. Not a good sign. I have 4 socks on the needle right now…but I may have to cast on for a test sock just to see how much the DPN weight impacts me. I’m probably more inclined to be critical of the DPNs because I have wood (Crystal Palace) and metal (INOX Express) options that work just fine.

And finally, the pattern for Rona Lace Shawl. I figure this could be my first round shawl. But man, I was thrown off when it didn’t come with charts. Since I’ve never knit a round shawl before I don’t know if this is normal. Don’t circular lace patters have charts???

Entry filed under: Stash.

Princess Peach Cast on: Hoodie Scarf

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Random thoughts about random things

foofanagle at gmail dot com

Archives


