Bainbridge: 2 of 2

October 9, 2006 at 10:10 pm Leave a comment

So, taking Mike to Bloedel gave me the perfect reason to finally visit Churchmouse Tea and Yarn. All I can say is…CRAP. Now I’m going to have to spend a ton of money on ferry rides because this yarn store was amazing.

First of all, I found Koigu I don’t already have. And that’s two skeins of Lorna’s Laces Shepherd Sport for a pair of REQUESTED tipless gloves for Mike.

none

Mike never asks me to knit for him so as soon as I finish my current sock, I’m casting on for his gloves.

But c’mon, you know I can’t stop at 4 measley balls. Especially when I see this lovely fingering weight yarn from Japan.

none

The photo doesn’t do justice to the lovely colors in this yarn (the sun is playing hide and seek). It looks handspun! I bought 2 balls (socks!) and then realized that it was too pretty for socks…so I had to get 2 more balls. That should give me enough for a scarf/shawl.

However, the thing that really threw me over the top on this store was this:

none

That’s right folks…Socks that Rock. They had lightweight and heavy weight in stock and I had a yarngasm as soon as I saw their ENORMOUS display. Seriously – pounds and pounds of STR in almost every colorway. I’m already mourning the colors I left behind.

Everything I’ve heard about this store is true. The selection is grand, the employees are sweethearts and the overall ambience is delightful. I wish, oh how I wish, this store was in Seattle and not on an Island I have to take a ferry to.

But after this shopping extravaganza…I really need to pare back on my yarn shopping – especially sock yarn. I have enough sock yarn for at least 50 pairs of socks. And let’s face it – I’ll never go through it all (in sock form at least.) Think I can do it?

Don’t answer that.

Entry filed under: Knitting/Crochet, Out & About, Stash.

Bainbridge: 1 of 2 Cast-off: Fetching

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Random thoughts about random things

foofanagle at gmail dot com

Archives


