Follow the Green Brick road

April 11, 2007 at 4:51 pm 1 comment

I must be in a green phase.

none
They’re 9×4.5 pieces…and I have 12 each (although I can squeak out another 4-6 out of what’s left of the 1/2 yard cuts)

This will be my first “big” quilt project (it’s just a lap quilt though). To be honest, I’m more than a bit nervous. There’s no reason to be…it’s going to be a simple strip quilt…just lots of straight lines. I was inspired by a quilt I saw in a Pottery Barn catalog. (Or was it Crate and Barrel…or Willams and Sonoma Home – and really, what’s the difference?)

I’m probably breaking a ton of quilting rules with my fabrics. I think I’m supposed to have a nice mix of lights mediums and darks. But that was waaaaaaaaay too much effort. Plus I was getting a little light-headed from the fabric fumes at the store and got all caught up in the gorgeous Amy Butler and Michael Miller prints. So I’m going with a monochromatic look. That’s my story and I’m sticking to it. I’m backing and edging it with a nice rich chocolate brown cotton.

What I need to do now and lay it all out. I don’t have a workboard (should I try to make one for this or just lay it out on the guest bed?) But I’m hoping I can just do a consistent repeat and then just off set the columns to create a nice looking and balanced top. Something akin to this maybe?
none

Now picture that kind of layout but with these:
none

Any suggestions before I throw caution to the wind and wing it through my first real quilt?

Entry filed under: Sewing. Tags: .

Spin Spin Spin The wide Green Road

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Joey  |  April 11, 2007 at 5:37 pm

    I don’t have any suggestions, I just wanted to say I LOVE the fabrics you chose. . . .very cool.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Random thoughts about random things

foofanagle at gmail dot com

Archives


