My hidden shame

April 19, 2007 at 1:26 pm 2 comments

This morning I finally rectified a long running issue. I haven’t been to the dentist in over 3 years.

*GASP!*

Thankfully, I found a very nice local dentist (he was recommended by a friend that’s in the UW’s orthadontics program…so he was bound to be an awesome dentist). Plus, he has a lovely view out of the window.
none
It helps when you have to wait awhile for the X-rays to process. Having a camera phone helps too.

The view of a gently flowing stream also helps distract from the lovely array of torture devices to the right:
none

SHUDDER

Thankfully…no need for any of those for me this round.

But I do have this story to tell. Maybe I’m making too much of it since I’m such a heathen liberal. You tell me.

Hygienist-with-too-much-mascara (HWTMM): Do you watch American Idol?
Me: Urghahunh (that’s me saying “yes” with her hands in my mouth)
HWTMM: Rambles on innocuously about each contestant.
Me: gurgle gurgle gak
HWTMM: You know who I’m tired of? That girl. Oh…what’s her name…shoot.
Me: Ureugh?
HWTMM: Oh that girl. You know…that girl…the other COLORED GIRL [emphasis mine]
Me: (thinking) Wha?! Wait. Did she just SAY that?!
HWTMM: You know what bothers me about her. It’s her mouth. You know, I look at mouths since that’s what I do for a living.
Me: (thinking) This is going to be bad.
Me: (saying) Ungh ugnh
HWTMM: I hate her teeth and her lips. Her upper lip drives me crazy. It’s just really big and floppy.
Me: (thinking) I wonder if I can reach that suction thingy and shove it down her craw.
Me: (saying) Gargh! Ung ung ung!
HWTMM: *pausing* Well, I probably shouldn’t say that. You know…if you can’t say anything nice…
Me: (thinking) Uhhh…it’s a little late beeeeeeeeyatch!

Maybe I’m being overly sensitive. But really. Has anyone used that term since 1945 and not been a bigot? I’m sure she didn’t mean anything by it. She used “Colored” the way my Grandpa would use “Oriental” to describe me. It revealed an ignorance but wasn’t intentionally being hurtful. Then again, I don’t have time to spend on oblivious racists.

On top of all that, she was pretty pokey and scrapey with those metal thingys. At least I’m tartar free.

Entry filed under: Nuggets, Rant. Tags: .

You Baby Monday’s Rainbow, Friday’s Post

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Janell  |  April 20, 2007 at 5:36 am

    Thank gawd she didn’t say “negro.” Yes, “colored” is out. It’s been out for a while, like 20 years maybe. Really, it speaks to her upbringing.

    Harrison never identifies people by their skin tone, normally it’s by the color of their shirts, “the man with the blue shirt on.” I think it’s because he’s around a mix of kids all day and Mike and I don’t use skin tone as a descripter

    Oh and don’t feel bad, it’s been about 3 years since I’ve been to the dentist. But that’s ok, because us “Orientals” have good, strong teeth.

    Reply
  • 2. l3ahkn1ts  |  May 4, 2007 at 11:16 pm

    Thankfully, I haven’t had one of those conversations with the Hygenist yet. The one I go to is too chatty though. a few years ago she was going through a divorce and wouldn’t shut up about it. she started to get sniffly and had to leave for a sec cause she started to cry.
    and yes, they are too pokey and scrapey with their instruments.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Random thoughts about random things

foofanagle at gmail dot com

Archives


