Love or Obsession

May 3, 2007 at 7:52 am 4 comments

As some people know…I have a bit of a compulsion when it comes to craft supplies. I have a bajillion rubber stamps, enough scrapbooking paper to anchor a yacht and don’t even get me started on my french beaded flower phase. So why would knitting be any different?

The sheer variety of sock yarn is intoxicating to me. And let’s just say I have a bit of an impulse control issue at times. The word “sale” is like heroin. Anyway. When we moved into our new house we had this “extra” china hutch that I inherited from my grandparents. Turns out it was really made to store/display my sock yarn and not my dishes.
none

I have to admit, I take immense pleasure from looking at it all tucked away in the hutch. The colors are inspiring and I feel comforted knowing that when the next Ice Age comes, my family and I will have the toastiest feet this side of Ecuador. And actually, seeing all this yarn together kind of helps me pull back on shopping because I really do have ENOUGH.

none

The extent of the madness:

  • The top shelf is 100% Koigu. (please note the nice space at the top of the shelf for more Koigu in case some should happen to come home with me in the future.)
  • The next shelf down is: left – Etsy sock yarn purchases and right – Socks that Rock, Angora Valley, Fleece Artist and Shaefer Anne
  • The next shelf down is: mostly Lorna’s Laces with some Etsy thrown in. Oh…and Trekking XXL.
  • The bottom shelf is: Random assortment of sock yarn from Hello Yarn and other random places

Don’t ask about the drawers below. It’s not sock yarn…but the rest of the stash flash is for another day. And don’t worry…I have a closet full of other yarns too. God forbid my stash comfortably fit in one hutch!

So there it is. The sock yarn stash that has led me to walk into some yarn stores and think, “Hrm. I have a better selection of sock yarn than this.”
So Janell…bring it!

(And you know, now that I look at it…there’s really far too much space left in the hutch. Better go see what’s happening on Etsy.)

Entry filed under: Stash. Tags: .

Walk on the Wild Tide ::simple coasters::

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Swankette  |  May 3, 2007 at 8:00 pm

    Damn, girl, that’s a lot of sock yarn! I was picturing MY china hutch filled with sock yarn, and THAT’S a lot of yarn, but that’s one DARN BIG china hutch you’re working with there!

    Reply
  • 2. Janell  |  May 4, 2007 at 2:57 am

    Oh shiz, girl- it. is on. A public throw down like that? I will say you do have a lot and it’s much better organized than mine. It nice the way you incorporated your grandmother’s hutch and the yarn.

    I might have to start a flikr account to show mine. That way I can just take a picture whereever it is laying around my office instead of getting it actually organized.

    Reply
  • 3. Nancy  |  May 5, 2007 at 5:25 am

    Wow – all that yarn is gorgeous!! Reminds me of when I lived in an old old house with a build in china cabinet. We didn’t have china (or at least no china worth displaying), so I stored my quilt fabric in it. It was a fabulous way to enjoy the colors even before it was made into quilts.

    Reply
  • 4. Oriri  |  May 16, 2007 at 2:22 pm

    Oh. My. Gosh.

    One word: Envy.

    There’s enough yarn there to roll around in.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Random thoughts about random things

foofanagle at gmail dot com

Archives


