Whoopsie

May 11, 2007 at 7:22 am 3 comments

$10/minute.
That’s what I managed to spend at the Weaving Works sale on Thursday. It was crazy! Women were lined up outside before the doors opened and the crush inside was a bit scary. It was a lot of fake-politeness. “Oh, am I blocking you from reaching the $2 box? I’m so sorry! [but I won’t move for you!]” Thankfully, Shiori was there too and helped keep me a bit grounded (well, except for something I’ll tell you about in a sec.)

I was happy to find 3 lovely colors of Cashmerino Aran that I didn’t have yet! I can’t wait to make some miters with these.
none

It was in my plan to pick up some yarn for a ripple blanket. I was figuring maybe 8-10 skeins. Oops.
none
15 is close to 8-10, right?

This wasn’t in my plan:
none
But Shiori picked up every white ball of Misti Alpaca lace weight, and I was consumed by the need to stock up in light of the sudden shortage. Do I need this? No. Do I already have a lace project languising on the needles? Yes. Am I sick? Apparently.

The ongoing theme of “impulse control – what’s that?” continued with my acquisition of more “Gu” (as Janell calls it.)
none
Ahhhh…sweet sweet Koigu. If there is a yarn that can induce a chemical high…this is it.

Thankfully the crush of the crowd got to me and I got out of there in 25 minutes. The really scary thing is…the sale goes through Sunday and I’m starting to think about that bag of Classic Elite Wings I left behind.

Entry filed under: Stash. Tags: .

It grows Basket? Bucket? Bag?

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Janell  |  May 11, 2007 at 3:29 pm

    The Cotton Fleece colors are beautiful together. Great eye!

    Of course the Gu is lovely as well. I love the top one on the right. Great colors that you wouldn’t expect to see together but look fantastic. Did you get the last skein? That one wasn’t there when I got there at 1:30.

    Let me know if you plan on heading over again this weekend. I may too. Maybe we can hook up for lunch after we elbow our way through the ol’ bitty crowd.

    Reply
  • 2. Carrie  |  May 11, 2007 at 9:30 pm

    Geez, you totally scored! Lucky girl!!

    Reply
  • 3. l3ahkn1ts  |  May 11, 2007 at 9:49 pm

    It’s not fair! So many people I know are skipping work or taking breaks to go to a sale and I don’t get to😦
    Does Weaving works have a parking lot or is it street parking? I may have to check this place out

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Random thoughts about random things

foofanagle at gmail dot com

Archives


