Basket? Bucket? Bag?

May 14, 2007 at 3:11 pm 4 comments

I had a craft-acular Saturday. I went to Diana’s and we worked on a project bag/basket/bucket thing. I think of it as a 3B. We were working from the pictures at the Knitting Box. But we made up the “pattern” as we went along. Thankfully Diana’s a more experienced/thoughtful seamstress than I am otherwise I never would have made it through.

One of the things I love about crafting is the transformative nature of it. Knitting/Crochet takes some string and makes it into fabric, flat pieces of paper can turn into 3-dimensional sculpture and simple bits of fabric like this are just full of potential.
none

Diana finished hers in about 5 hours…it took me a bit longer since I had to do considerably more seam ripping. I loved the moment when Diana said (ever so nicely) “Uhhh…I think your drawstring lining is on backwards.” Sigh. But I made it though…it took me about 7 hours to finish it up. And near the end I just wanted it done so I rush a bit. Don’t look too closely or you’ll see all the areas I was sloppy and completely lacking skill. Thankfully, I think my camera is bad enough that you won’t see all the boof ups.
none

It’s pretty and functional on the inside too since lined the inside with pockets that will hold tools or patterns.
none

Mistakes and all…I’m super happy with it. It’s about 12 inches in diameter and 12 inches tall which should be perfect to haul around a couple of projects.

I love it so much, I’ve already started on bag #2. I should be able to apply my lessons learned from the first one and make this one just right. This one will be smaller, maybe 8 inches in diameter. Here’s a little teaser…
none

Entry filed under: Crafty, Sewing.

Whoopsie Europa

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Diana  |  May 15, 2007 at 6:54 pm

    Your top binding looks good. Mine looks like crap from the inside. I am going to have to rip it our and re-sew. For now it’s hidden under the top cover that’s folded over.

    Reply
  • 2. Carrie  |  May 15, 2007 at 8:45 pm

    It looks great!! Gorgeous choice of fabrics! I think I need to take some time and make one now. 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. claudine  |  May 15, 2007 at 11:11 pm

    Oh my, that looks absolutely stunning!! I love the fabrics that you used.

    Reply
  • 4. Holly  |  May 16, 2007 at 7:05 pm

    Thats really cool! I like it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Random thoughts about random things

foofanagle at gmail dot com

Archives


