Therapeutic Spinning

May 25, 2007 at 7:36 am 3 comments

I spent Fri-Thurs in Vancouver, WA with the family. My father-in-law is in pretty bad shape. Right now the condition is:

  • emergency gall bladder
  • systemic infection (caused by the bad gall bladder apparently)
  • impaired liver function
  • complete kidney failure
  • heart arrhythmia
  • lung impairment

So basically he’s not breathing, eating, peeing or pumping blood normally. It’s not good.

Although my company is amazing and supportive in times like this, I had to come back for at least a day to get some work done in the office. Working remotely is all fine and dandy…but I have too much going on right now and the people in the hospital waiting room were getting tired of listening to me on my conference calls. So I trekked home last night so I could be in the office today. I was along with the dog and really tired, but I did some therapeutic spinning.

“Pale Blossom” fine wool roving from Pigeon Roof studios. I hesitate to even share that name with you because I don’t want to increase competition for her goods. Her hand-dyed yarn and rovings are some of my absolute favorites and I completely stalk her store.
none

It drafted and spun like a dream. Slipping easily through my fingers but not TOO easily, y’know?
none

The colors are so soft and made me crave neopolitan ice cream. It was just what I needed to center myself.
none

So I spun and I spun and I spun and relaxed after an intense emotional week. I’m headed back to the ‘Couv this weekend to spend Memorial Day at the hospital with my family as we hold vigil for my father-in-law. I wish I could bring my wheel…

Entry filed under: Spin. Tags: .

The gall Green Road Quilt

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Krista McCurdy  |  May 25, 2007 at 5:32 pm

    Thanks for sending me this link! your spinning looks beautiful. I’m using spinning as a bit of stress relief myself, now, because I’m moving apartments next week and trying to work two jobs at once!

    My thoughts are with you as you spend Memorial day with your father in law. Best of luck.

    Reply
  • 2. Janell  |  May 25, 2007 at 8:53 pm

    What I a bummer for your family. I do hope he pulls through and his health turns around. Hang tough, girl. A week in the ‘Couv will drive anyone to drink.

    Reply
  • 3. Carrie  |  May 31, 2007 at 4:31 am

    I am so sorry to hear about your father in law. I hope that he is doing better now. I will keep you and him in my thoughts.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Random thoughts about random things

foofanagle at gmail dot com

Archives


