Baa Baa Black Sheep…Gathering

June 27, 2007 at 8:40 am 2 comments

I missed the Black Sheep Gathering last year and regretted it. And with all the craziness in life right now I almost missed it this year too…but at the last moment Mike and I decided to make it happen. It was a fibery good time for me and a lesson in loving patience for Mike.

I loved having so many vendors in one place. I almost completely lost it at the Capistrano Fiber Arts booth. I mean…just look at this stuff!!!
none

I could share tons of photos of the event, but really…it came down to lots of fiber, lots of spinning supplies and many many sweet sheep/goat/alpaca faces.
none none
none none
none none

You know Mike’s not having such a bad time when he starts saying, “We could keep some sheep! It doesn’t look too hard.” Of course, keep in mind that this is the guy that went to Mt. Rainier and said “That doesn’t look so tall.” 30 mins into the hike later he rescinded that comment. Needless to say, we came home sans livestock.

Presenting the requisite haul photos. I want to point out…this stash enhancement demonstrates extreme restraint on my part.

Let me lead with a triumph. A Sheep 2 Shoe kit from Blue Moon. Kristi has been absolutely inspirational with her gorgeous 3-ply.
none

Of course I would NEVER go to the Blue Moon booth and walk away STR-less. That really would be sacrilege. You can’t see it, but this also represents the greatest personal tragedy I experienced at BSG. Apparently, Blue Moon had a WALL OF SECONDS when they opened. But alas, when I got there it was all gone. SECONDS people! SECONDS! I can’t believe I missed out on that. Medium weight skeins were just $14. Alas. I managed to comfort myself with this:
none

Here’s the one spindle I got. I already wish I had bought more since this little beauty spins like a freakin’ dream! Why haven’t you told me about the Bosworth magic?!
none

And here’s where I spent the chunk of my “budget” (ha! budget. as if.) I’m currently a complete geek over Lori Lawson’s stuff from Capistrano Fiber Arts. Whether it’s BFL, Merino/Silk or Alpaca/Merino/Tencel…it’s all pure magic. Her eye for color is phenomenal…really one of the best in the industry. I really wanted to ask her to just pack up her whole booth and put it in the back of our car. Look at this stuff…can you blame me?
none none
none none
none

Finally a few lovely random bits:

Lovely natural dyed merino and merino/tencel. Dyed with cochineal. Approx. 4oz each. I’m planning on plying these together for a lace shawl.
none

And, of course, some superwash merino from my beloved Crown Mountain Farms. Colorway: Secret Agent Man. Really, 8.5oz of hand-dyed fun for only $19? It’s still the best deal around.
none

So see, all in all not TOO bad. *cough* At least I did restrain myself from buying pounds of the baby camel and baby alpaca that was there. Realisitically, I’m no where near having the time to spin for a sweater. But really, I petted those bundles of buttery softness until the vendors shooed me out of their area. I can’t wait for next year!

Entry filed under: Knitting/Crochet, Out & About, Spin, Stash. Tags: .

Bagsket the Third Little Square Pincushion

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. nancy  |  June 29, 2007 at 5:04 pm

    Ooooooh – I’m loving the goods!!!

    Reply
  • 2. nancy  |  June 29, 2007 at 5:04 pm

    (whoops wrong URL. sorry)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Random thoughts about random things

foofanagle at gmail dot com

Archives


