Stash and Dash

August 16, 2007 at 8:14 am Leave a comment

A wee bit of sewing has been going on. I’ve been working on a mock up of the Lotta Jansdotter tissue box cover. Who doesn’t adore Lotta?! (But who wants to pay $25 for a tissue box cover?) I have a muslin prototype done…but I just had to put it aside for a bit. Wrestling with too much binding tape made me grumpy.

So in the meantime, I tried out the Stash and Dash pattern from Amy Butler (in her fabrics no less).

none

It’s a great little pattern that produces a very usable bag. This took me about 2.5 – 3 hours to put together…but I think the next one will go much more quickly now that I have the steps down. The pattern comes with 3 different sizes (coin, make-up, toiletry), has full size pattern pieces for all three sizes and is well written.

Do not use HEAVY interfacing for this project. She recommends Pellon 40 (which I have never used) but my first attempt was with the same Timtex-like interfacing I used on the bagsket. Big mistake. The pleating was a bloody nightmare, the whole thing slid around like it was in an oil wrestling match and it was very frustrating. So I undid it and redid it with a nice stable but lighter weight interfacing. MUCH better. I actually think a heavy canvas or duckcloth would work really well as the interfacing on this. Or…just use heavier weight cotton and no interfacing.

I still struggle with sewing around the zipper pull too…but I suppose some more practice will help. If anyone has any tips, feel free to share ’em with me.

Entry filed under: Sewing.

Cold Spun Lace Weight Round of Rosey

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Random thoughts about random things

foofanagle at gmail dot com

Archives


