Saturday Snail

August 19, 2007 at 8:18 am 6 comments

Rain rain go away.
Come again some other day.
Then again if the rain won’t end,
My little snail might get a friend.

none

A few hours on a rainy Saturday afternoon with some felt, some embroidery thread, needle and scissors is all I needed to make this little cutie. I love that it’s all hand-sewn. I love that it’s only 5″ tall and sits in the palm of my hand. I love that its little antennae are different lengths and curl slightly on their own. And I love love love that its shell is made from some of the fabric I inherited from grandma.

Hillary Lang is a genius. Her new hand sewing pattern cards, as always from her, are beautifully presented. The instructions are super simple and it’s the kind of little project that encourages even the novice hand-sewer (like myself) to pick up the needle and just start sewing.
You can check out the hand sewing cards and all of her other amazing patterns HERE.

Here are a few more shots of my little new friend. Aren’t its little arms adorable?!

none none
(You can click for a super-sized pic)

Entry filed under: Crafty, Sewing. Tags: .

We’ve failed Fiber People! Late to the bandwagon

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. claudine  |  August 20, 2007 at 12:10 am

    Oh yes, very cute!! Can’t wait for my pattern cards to arrive so I can play too.

    Reply
  • 2. Amy  |  August 20, 2007 at 4:42 pm

    Too cute!

    Reply
  • 3. Nancy  |  August 27, 2007 at 6:29 pm

    love! yours is so darling. i agree with everything you said about how brilliant the pattern cards are. the snail was the first one i had to do too!

    Reply
  • 4. Bethany  |  August 31, 2007 at 5:21 pm

    You did such a great job on this one! I have the pattern but have yet to try it (when the kids go back to school on Tuesday!) I like your blog site!

    Reply
  • 5. Emmie  |  September 1, 2007 at 7:35 am

    Hi – love the snail! It has such character! I’m really a knitter but I’m getting inspired to do some sewing!

    Reply
  • 6. Dees  |  September 12, 2007 at 9:12 am

    Tooo cute!!what a great job!
    xoxo

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Random thoughts about random things

foofanagle at gmail dot com

Archives


