Clutch

September 9, 2007 at 2:55 am 1 comment

Nothing is better to kick the stress of a busy week than a quick and easy project that results in something both charming and useful.

A little clutch from Amy Karol‘s delightful book “Bend the Rules Sewing” was the perfect afternoon project.

none

Made from Windham‘s delightful Harmony line. I think it took me longer to pick the fabric out of my stash than it did to make the clutch. Since I had just bought some duckcloth I decided to use that as my interfacing and the button is just something I had in my stash. Dare I say this was a stash-busting project?

All in all, I’m super pleased with this little thing. I think they would make wonderful last-minute gifts. What I think is extra-cool is that once you make one (to get the steps down) you can make them in any size you’d like by changing the size of your cuts. Easy peasy.

I think duckcloth was the wrong call though. I think I’ll toss another one together using the (suggested) fleece as interfacing instead. After all, I have a free 30 minutes…

Entry filed under: Crafty, Sewing. Tags: .

So busy…but not too busy to covet Clutch Redux (or “Who wants it?”)

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. theyarnyard  |  September 10, 2007 at 5:13 pm

    I use bags like this as recyclable gift wrapping.
    I made a selection of drawstring and other bags and when it comes to Christmas or birthdays, I get the bags out. We keep them for family gifts, and some of our bags are made in the family tartan because we are Scottish. I tend not to make specifically Christmassy bags as it limits what you can do with them at birthdays, and other special occasions.
    We don’t paper wrap the gift inside the bag, that would defeat the point, but the drawstrings or in your case, the fold over closure keeps everything hidden, and if it’s an obvious shape then stuffing the item inside a couple of clean woolly socks usually does the trick!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Random thoughts about random things

foofanagle at gmail dot com

Archives


