My kingdom for some photography skills

September 17, 2007 at 7:32 am 2 comments

The grand plan after I bought THIS was to buy THIS. After all, both a point-and-shoot and SLR have their wonderful uses. But I just haven’t had the time to find a place to buy the SLR from, so I’m making due with my little Powershot. And in reality, the SLR will have to wait as I’m all about configuring and ordering THIS right now.

ANYWAY, I digress. The point was (surprise! I had a point!) that my new camera(s) were supposed to magically transform me into a master photographer. I’d take stunning images of my handcrafted goods that were inspiring and memorable. I’d become Jared. It turns out, that’s not the way it really works. While I’ve had some new little handsewn fellas (gals?) to show you for a week now…I simply haven’t been able to get photos that I like. And seriously, I have pretty low standards when it comes to photo approval so that’s just a hint of how bad the pics I’ve taken have been.

So just to prove they’re done…here’s a leeeeetle peek:
none none

Now if the clouds will part for an afternoon, I’ll take another stab at it. Anyone have any tips on how to channel Annie Leibovitz?

Entry filed under: Crafty, Nuggets, Sewing. Tags: .

Clutch – Drawing Diamonds are a girl’s best friend

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Amy  |  September 18, 2007 at 6:16 am

    So I can send you the place I got my D80 from. I got a nice package deal and the place is one I’ve had many photo people say is *awsome*. I like them a lot too.

    My tips for photography:
    – don’t stress so much, just kinda go with it. taking pictures should be fun!
    – take lots of pictures. you can always delete the bad ones with digital
    – some times the shots you think are crazy and weird as you take them, end up being the real good ones, so don’t dismiss any ideas. again, take lots of pictures.

    Reply
  • 2. MJ  |  September 27, 2007 at 8:04 am

    You don’t necessarily need a “better” camera to take good pictures. Sure, there are more features to play around with, but if you have the basics of photography down, you needn’t worry too much. Amy has some good tips, esp. #3. If you look at Jared’s images, what typically draws your eye is composition, the way he puts subject against background and the way he frames it with the available light he has. That’s really all there is to it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Random thoughts about random things

foofanagle at gmail dot com

Archives


