Knitting group limitations

September 21, 2007 at 4:14 pm 2 comments

I have the pleasure of being part of a wonderful knitting group. The women, sadly no male members yet, are a pleasure to spend time with. (Hey – no snickering about “male members”!) I learn a lot from the group and laugh a lot while doing so.

However, I quickly came to realize that at our knit nights my knitting should be limited to stockinette projects only (preferably in the round). Knit knit knit. That’s all. I simply cannot handle anything else because I have not evolved from my 5-year-old self who consistently got “Suzanne likes to socialize a LOT” on her report cards. I get distracted easily, especially when some is saying “you should pet my Buffalo.” Really, I simply cannot concentrate with that scintillating conversation going on around me!

But when I get overconfident or forget my limitations I end up with this happening:
none
My second pair (here’s the first) of Monkey arm warmers.

Don’t see the issue? Take a closer look…
none

See the areas in the blue rectangles? Do you see it? Somehow I managed to turn what was a purl on the first one into a ktbl (knit through the back leg) on the second one. SIGH. It couldn’t even be just a plain old knit stitch. It had to be a ktbl. The twisted column of stitches stands out a LOT. This isn’t something I will be able to call “good enough”. I am going to have to ladder down the offending twisted stitches and convert them into purls.

I hate, loathe, and detest ripping back projects. I’m trying to convince myself that dropping down 4 columns of stitches (at least I made the screw up consistent) isn’t actually ripping back. At least it’s only two repeats of the pattern. It looks like I need to dig up my old report cards again and read through all of the “Suzanne should work on focusing on the task at hand” comments.

Entry filed under: Knitting/Crochet, Rant. Tags: .

Shangri La charms Kicking butt…taking names.

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Janell  |  September 24, 2007 at 5:23 pm

    We must have had the same teacher, because my report cards said, “Janell needs to learn to do her work QUIETLY.” And “Janell has a tendancy to finish her work and then distract other children.”

    Rip it back, girl….

    Reply
  • 2. Sandy  |  October 1, 2007 at 10:15 pm

    I can’t even follow a pattern when the TV is on! Have you ever noticed how many times a number is said during a commercial? How is a gal suppse to keep count of things when someone is throwing numbers all over the place? (O:

    And let’s not mention the DH who asks a question right in the middle of something really important that is happening on the needles!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Random thoughts about random things

foofanagle at gmail dot com

Archives


