Separate but equal

October 2, 2007 at 8:39 am 3 comments

It’s been a fabric/sewing heavy post run lately. So let’s switch it up with some fibery goodness.

Remember THIS stuff from way back when?
none

I had wanted to ply them together (I don’t remember why) but when I tried it I was completely “meh“. Two gorgeous colors just blended and washed each other out. I didn’t knit a swatch (I probably should have) and I’m sure this would have knit up to an interesting tweedy mix. But really, how many purple/green/white tweeds do you see?
none

So I wound them into center pull balls and plied them onto themselves.

none

They’re each 4ozs of BFL. They were so soft, they practically spun themselves. They ended up working to a DK weight…maybe just a bit lighter? I always forget to take WPI before I post this stuff.

none

The roving came from one of my all time favorites on Etsy, Pigeonroof Studios. I adore the green, but the purple ended up a bit darker than I had hoped. But really – in this case I’m much happier with two separate colors than with one blended one.

Next up – more fabricky stuff because I finished a quilt top and got the most awesomest book from Amazon…

Entry filed under: Crafty, Spin. Tags: .

Freshcut My new favorite

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Katherine  |  October 2, 2007 at 4:18 pm

    Oh, so pretty! Whatcha gonna make with them???

    Reply
  • 2. Alice  |  October 4, 2007 at 7:56 pm

    Both are absolutely stunning! It’s amazing how striking they are plied onto themselves… WOW.

    Reply
  • 3. Jessica  |  October 12, 2007 at 5:34 pm

    Both of those came out so beautifully! Your plying looks great. Nicely done.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Random thoughts about random things

foofanagle at gmail dot com

Archives


