My new favorite

October 3, 2007 at 8:50 am 2 comments

I haven’t been so excited about a craft book since…well…I don’t know in how long! Last Minute Patchwork + Quilted Gifts has got to be one of my favorite all time craft books. And certainly, I view it as the best in the “Last-Minute” book line from Purl. This book has lived up to and exceeded my expectations and hopes.

I’ve shared the link to Purl’s book announcement/preview before…but in case you missed it you can find it HERE.
Quite frankly, they’ve already previewed a number of my favorite projects including the colorwheel quilt, the rainbow pencil holder, and of course…PEANUT!

none none none
(Seriously – Hillary is a genius. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again.)

Since I’ve had a couple of people ask me to share some of the other projects in the book…here are a few more of my faves that haven’t been previewed. But really – there are a ton of projects and each one of them is incredibly beautiful and inspiring.

Stacked Coins quilt | Simple Bag | Just Sweet Enough quilt
none none none
(You can click for a larger view)

The moment I opened the book I knew I had to make something from it immediately. You can never have too many pincushions, and Kelly’s Pincushions from the book are so screamingly fun.
none
It took my just under 2 hours to put the pincushion together – including picking out the fabric, making the template, cutting, sewing, turning, stuffing, and wrapping with thread. And honestly – the wrapping was the hardest part – but so worth it.

Throughout Last Minute Patchwork + Quilted Gifts the projects are well thought out, inspirational, and (of course) beautifully photographed. There’s a nice variety too…from stuffed birds and elephants to quilts and bag. From what I can tell, the instructions are written clearly and most should be simple enough for a beginner sewer to tackle.

Of course, I have just a few minor nits…
1) The patterns are printed on one large sheet that is glued onto the inside of the back cover. The glue is the kind that is supposed to easily pop off…but one of my glue dots wouldn’t come off so it tore away a flap of the lining paper. Many sewing books come with the patterns in a little envelope that is glued to the inside cover. That would have been a better way to go.
2) Little things always slip through the cracks. One thing I noticed on the pincushion is that the instructions note we should leave an opening for turning as it is marked on the template. The template had no such markings. It’s easy enough to figure out…but just a minor editing miss.
3) They went super light on imagery in the instructional section at the end of the book. While the instructional section is a pretty good listing of techniques you’ll need…because there are so few illustrations it would be difficult for a beginner to follow. For example – they take up half of a page with written instructions on how to tie a quilter’s knot. And really – if you’ve never done it before or seen it done, written instructions just don’t get you there. A few illustrations would have been a much better approach. For example – Heather Bailey has the perfect tutorial on a quilter’s knot HERE – no words needed.

But these are all just nit picks. It doesn’t detract from the overwhelming value of the book. After all, perfection is so boring. But close to perfection, as this book is, is oh-so-awesome.

Entry filed under: Books, Commentary, Crafty, Sewing. Tags: .

Separate but equal Chaotic Lotus

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Alice  |  October 4, 2007 at 7:58 pm

    Love the pincushion! Thanks for showing some more projects from the book… I really MUST buy this one!

    Reply
  • 2. l3ahkn1ts  |  October 4, 2007 at 8:40 pm

    aww, it wooks like a widdle tomato 🙂
    makes me wish i sewed

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Random thoughts about random things

foofanagle at gmail dot com

Archives


