Chaotic Lotus

October 4, 2007 at 7:13 am 5 comments

After a much longer than expected time, I finally finished my Chaotic Lotus quilt top. Well…mostly finished.

none
: finished top with backing options :

It turns out, I’m not so good with quilting math. I’m so-so with knitting math. But quilting math (especially late at night) is not my thing. After I finished the center pieced panel, I realized I wanted a larger quilt. So I figured out I wanted to add about 8 inches to the length and width. I dutifully selected fabric (which I’m not loving now) and cut four 8-inch-wide strips.

All of you good-at-quilt-math people know what’s wrong with what I just wrote. But if you’re like me, cutting four 8-inch strips makes sense when you want to add 8 inches total to the length and width. So I cheerfully attached said strips to all 4 sides and pressed down the seams. And then I held up the finished quilt top to revel in the joy of accomplishment…only to drown in the hugeness that the quilt had become. Because, dear non-quilting-math friends, to add 8 inches – your strips for each side should only be FOUR FREAKIN’ INCHES wide. DUH!

So what you see above is my conundrum. My top is now much larger than I wanted/needed. I wouldn’t care…but the quilting part is the part I don’t typically enjoy…and more quilt top means more quilting. So I need to decide if I just push on through and quilt the ocean that was supposed to be a lap quilt. Or should trim down the top by 4 inches on each side? The issue with trimming is that the border fabric I selected is a large print and it will lose it’s impact if cut in half. And sure, I could rip off the borders entirely and start fresh. But, like with knitting, I hate ripping things back.

Ugh. Crafting dilemma! (At least the center pieced area is pretty – I adore the Lotus line from Amy Butler. Even my iffy sewing skills look good in gorgeous fabric.)

Entry filed under: Crafty, Sewing. Tags: .

My new favorite Polka Peanut

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. mehitabel  |  October 4, 2007 at 6:49 pm

    What I’d do is, I’d just go ahead and leave it, since it’s just an overall 8″ longer and wider than you originally planned. Then keep the border quilting simple, so it won’t take you any longer than if you had made the border 4″ wide.
    Another alternative? Ask around to see if someone in your area does reasonable-price longarm quilting, and have it “quilted by check.” There’s a shop in my area that offers lessons and rental on their longarm machine, which makes it pretty cheap to get it done fast!

    Reply
  • 2. MJ  |  October 5, 2007 at 8:28 am

    Would it make or break your plans if the quilt is larger than what you wanted? I’d hate to see all the pretty fabric cut away!

    How about folding the excess fabric to the back and have it as part of the back? Then a binding wouldn’t be necessary, although you’d have to sew around the edges to secure the quilt.

    Reply
  • 3. Michelle  |  October 5, 2007 at 9:30 pm

    I am with MJ. I tend to make my backings from scrap fabric anyway so this would look pretty cool.

    Reply
  • 4. Jessica  |  October 12, 2007 at 5:33 pm

    It’s looking really beautiful.
    I made a very similar quilt and used a wide border on it. Think of it as a chance to improve your quilting skills.🙂

    Reply
  • 5. yummygoods  |  October 22, 2007 at 11:12 am

    i absolutely love it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Random thoughts about random things

foofanagle at gmail dot com

Archives


