Polka Peanut

October 14, 2007 at 3:44 pm 4 comments

Ugh. It turns out working 60 and 70 hour weeks isn’t a lot of fun. Who knew? After a week or more of zero crafting time, I finally squeezed out some time for the good stuff.

As you know, I’ve been chomping at the bit to make Peanut ever since I saw the preview on the Purl Bee preview. I couldn’t wait any longer so I dug into my stash and came up with this little fella.

none

Overall, the project is pretty simple. I am completely charmed by the way his trunk is formed and his little tail. The only thing I did differently than the pattern is attaching the eyes before the doll was sewn together and stuffed. (I just think it’s easier to make the eyes line up.) I ran into one minor bump along the way as it wasn’t clear to me between the pattern and the template how far along the belly pieces I should stitch. So underneath Peanut’s hindquarters he’s a bit droopy. Oh well, no one is going to be looking down there anyway, right? I also wish I had cotton fill for stuffing (as recommended in the book) instead of polyfil. I think it would have made Peanut a bit more stand-upable. But he’s cute nonetheless and very squeezable. I haven’t made his little blanket yet – I couldn’t find a fabric in my stash that felt right. But that’s ok, naked Peanut is good by me.

And because I know you want to see some cute little elephant butt…
none

Pattern: Peanut from Last Minute Patchwork + Quilted Gifts
Designer: Hilary Lang at Wee Wonderfuls
Project length: approx. 5 hours (including some ripping time when I redid the belly)
Will I make it again? Absolutely! Clearly I need a whole troop of little elephants.

Entry filed under: Crafty, Sewing. Tags: .

Chaotic Lotus Back to the beginning

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. MJ  |  October 16, 2007 at 10:40 am

    Cute! I do love me some elephant butt.

    Reply
  • 2. marian  |  October 16, 2007 at 8:59 pm

    ohmigosh, he is so cute! Gotta buy that book; moving it to the top of the queue.

    Reply
  • 3. kelp!  |  October 24, 2007 at 4:29 am

    Peanut’s such a cutie, yet ever-so-slightly scandalous in his naked state! I just bought the book, and I totally have my eye on making one.

    Reply
  • 4. black cat luver  |  May 24, 2008 at 6:10 am

    omigod!!!!! SO CUTE MOON!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Random thoughts about random things

foofanagle at gmail dot com

Archives


