This post may not LOOK different…

November 6, 2007 at 6:42 pm 6 comments

A post like any other? Oh no dear friends.

Because…

I am no longer:
none

I am now:
none

Yes, I’ve taken a bite out of the Apple. And I’m having a blast! Welcome to the first post from my new laptop.

For geeks like me who care about this stuff…I picked up a 17″ MacBook Pro – fully tricked out. The 7200rpm harddrive…4 GB of ram…the HI-DEF widescreen. Oh man…I know it’s so not Zen to love an object. So let’s call this techno-lust.

But as the last Mac I had was in ’93, there are SOOOOOO many new things to learn on this new machine. It’s all very fun. But I’m planning on running Parallels or VMWare (any advice on which to go with is appreciated) and XP along side my OS X Leopard (grrrr Baby!) So really, I’ll be bi-techtual. Until I get Windows up and running on my system though – I’m going to focus on playing around with the delights of Leopard.

So let me know, dear Mac friends, if you have any little widgets or programs that you can’t live without. I’m looking to turn this silvery bit of heaven up to eleven.

Entry filed under: Cool Stuff, General Geekery, Nuggets. Tags: .

All work…no play. But one bitchin’ website. Color Like No Other

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. nancy  |  November 7, 2007 at 11:51 pm

    When using the macbook as it’s meant to (a laptop) you must know of the two finger scroll. Put two fingers on the mouse pad area, move them up and down and you’re scrolling!

    Hold a finger down on the mouse pad area, and click = right click. A must for us windows users who rely on right click more than the average bear.

    F12 gets you to your widget desktop thingy (great for checking the weather)

    I also remapped the funny apple key (command) and control to be each other. I couldn’t handle Command-C, Command-V so now I Control-C and Control-V. Set this in the System Preferences.

    Those were the things I really loved once I got used to my mac after switching back to mac from being a PC gal for years and years.

    Cool App: ViewIt by HexSomething. Very cool way to navigate through your photos (iPhoto sucks).

    You can get Remote Desktop for your mac too ; if you’ve got a Windows machine that you need to work on but don’t wanna get up out of your chair.

    Reply
  • 2. marian  |  November 8, 2007 at 3:55 pm

    I’ve been considering the same for some time, now. My husband wanted to make the switch when I bought the last computer some four years ago. But, no, I’ve been sooooooo PC based, since ’85. I love your term “techno-lust”. That’s what we have, too. I’m replacing the desktop, and our laptops with Macs. Just have to think about the configurations for each. Here’s where my husband and I have differing opinions. He’s of the mind, get just what we need. Me, get the lastest and greatest. I’d love to hear your opinions as you “get to know” your Mac.

    Reply
  • 3. kim  |  November 11, 2007 at 8:17 pm

    Yay! I’m so glad you tore yourself away from the oppressive, utilitarian work machine to the fun and oh so sexy Macbook🙂 You definitely need to make more time to play.

    And ps, Quicksilver is a pretty sweet app!

    Reply
  • 4. Coralee G  |  November 28, 2007 at 6:28 pm

    congrats on the Mac! I’ve been on Mac for 2 years and love it more everyday…still have to upgrade to Leopard. My blog is done via iweb and .mac and I love it all!

    Reply
  • 5. tinkerwiththis  |  January 10, 2008 at 7:36 pm

    there’s always the chia pet widget, one must not live without a digital foliage turtle relying on you for water and life. i’ve killed mine more times than i can count…

    Reply
  • 6. adpinion  |  July 24, 2008 at 3:40 pm

    The absolute best thing about Mac is the Spotlight in the upper right corner. I never even browse through my files any longer. Just type a word you think is contained in a document and voila! It appears in spotlight.

    Option click the red close button and you close all windows open in that program. Command (apple key) H hides any program.

    Stickies are a great way to get the little crappy notes off your desk (and onto your screen heheh).

    Oh there’s so much more. Have fun finding out!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Random thoughts about random things

foofanagle at gmail dot com

Archives


