Warm and chic…my neck is happy

December 13, 2007 at 5:17 pm 16 comments

Hello again! I finally can share some real content. Goodness, it’s been too long. I have been in a crafting black hole. Sadly, when I don’t have enough time to sleep, I don’t have enough time to craft. BUT – it’s COLD outside and a woman has needs. And this woman needed some new scarves (which I know is a ridiculous claim from a knitter.)

If you remember THIS POST
Here’s what I was doing with all of that fabric:
none
It’s the Patchwork Scarf from Denyse Schmidt Quilts.
I adore this scarf and the pattern. It’s foundation pieced using free-hand cut strips of fabric. That’s right! After you cut your foundation and backing fabric, the rest of it is just you, the fabric, and a pair of scissors. It goes together very quickly – and if anyone is out there looking to make a last-minute gift, I highly recommend this pattern.

I encountered two “issues” while making the scarf.
1) You have to iron between sewing each strip. Keep your ironing board close and your iron hot lest you end up wearing tracks in the carpet between your sewing machine and the laundry room as I did.
2) Apparently I cannot remember the difference between F-words because I bought Fleece when I should have bought Flannel for the backing. S’ok though, because the fleece makes this scarf super warm and snuggly.
.
.
.

But wait, if one is good…isn’t TWO better?! Of course!
none
I loved my first scarf so much, I had to make another in browns. This way, I have a scarf that matches whatever I’m wearing. Sure, I could be a good person and give the second one away as a gift… Nah! I modified this one a bit to make it longer by 12 inches (broad shoulders) and slimmer by an inch (short neck) and the proportions hold up really well. And plus, this time I bought the right f-fabric…flannel!

These are wonderful winter scarves. Warm and snuggly but still very chic looking. I think the wool suit material really elevates the pattern so that a patchwork piece suddenly becomes very sophisticated.
none
Don’t you agree?

Entry filed under: Crafty, Sewing. Tags: .

A quick link interlude Coming clean for a fresh start

16 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Marion  |  December 14, 2007 at 5:11 am

    These are really awesome !

    Reply
  • 2. Diana  |  December 14, 2007 at 5:41 am

    Lookin’ good! Hope your hlidays are lots f fun and you find time to craft more during the break.

    Reply
  • 3. Kerry  |  December 14, 2007 at 12:53 pm

    Beautiful scarves! Such great color/pattern combinations!

    Reply
  • 4. Katherine  |  December 16, 2007 at 6:33 am

    Lovely! I can see that making these could become addictive ;o) Besides, you can never have too many pretty scarves, can you?

    Reply
  • 5. kelly  |  December 17, 2007 at 12:57 am

    these are lovely, i love the fabrics you used! -kb

    Reply
  • 6. ~ Karen ~  |  December 18, 2007 at 9:36 pm

    They come out lovely and no one else has one like it. Lucky you! :o)

    Reply
  • 7. Toni  |  December 19, 2007 at 1:24 am

    I really like the fabrics you used…very colorful – and beautiful. I think I might need a scarf🙂

    Reply
  • 8. Betty  |  December 21, 2007 at 3:00 pm

    This is one of my favorite quilting books. In fact, it is probably the thing that has gotten me so interested in quilting. I love that you chose this project, the colors are very unique. Funny about the F-word mix-up. I always do stuff like that.

    Reply
  • 9. Alice  |  December 22, 2007 at 5:56 pm

    Love them! Great scarves, I would definitely keep both for myself as well🙂

    Reply
  • 10. froghair  |  December 27, 2007 at 5:28 pm

    lovely! I have the book and have coveted the scarves — and just this morning, after trying it with my outfit and rejecting it for the umpteenth time, I have an old suit jacket that is ripe for the path of the scissors! so inspired am I…. only seven more hours at the office before I can get started!

    Reply
  • 11. nubiancraftster  |  December 28, 2007 at 11:38 pm

    wow I love these scarves. You did a great job. So far I have made three myself and I love them all. These scarfs are just wonderful to make and wear!

    Reply
  • 12. Grace  |  January 7, 2008 at 2:32 am

    I have this book, and now you’ve got me itching to make one of these scarves!! They look perfect and so classy. *love*

    Reply
  • 13. Rebekah  |  January 8, 2008 at 5:56 pm

    these are so lovely! I’ve got some green suiting fabric that would look great with some of my stash, so this project is definitely calling my name.

    Reply
  • 14. tinkerwiththis  |  January 10, 2008 at 7:39 pm

    these are beautiful. what a great way to use up my scraps!

    Reply
  • 15. Magik Quilter  |  March 10, 2008 at 3:42 pm

    I toatally agree…we are coming to an end of summer now so think I will get started…some for me and some as gifts. You did an amazing job and have a wonderful eye.

    Reply
  • 16. Magik Quilter  |  March 10, 2008 at 3:43 pm

    Need to get my eyes checked…wondered why the spell checker was on.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Random thoughts about random things

foofanagle at gmail dot com

Archives


