Coming clean for a fresh start

January 15, 2008 at 8:14 am 4 comments

A new year! Sadly, it’s taken this long to get a new post up. But that’s ok, because the New Year is all about fresh starts, right? It’s a time for resolutions (to be broken), projects to start (and not finish), and craft supplies to be purchased (to sit prettily on a shelf).

I didn’t get as much crafting done over the holiday break as I would have liked thanks to the cold to end all colds. I seriously went through two Costco-sized boxes of Kleenex in a week. By myself. Aren’t you so glad I shared that info? But even in my NyQuil-induced stupor, I was able to pull together most of my unfinished knit objects to catalog. I’m hoping that if I document all that un-doneness I will be shamed into a finishing frenzy. Fingers crossed.

There are enough of these things that one post would be too huge, so here for your pleasure (feel free to jump in and shame me too…it’s motivation!) is the multi-day parade of unfinished objects (that’s UFOs for you non-knitting types.)

Felt Bag Chances of being completed: 5%
I’m pretty sure this is my oldest UFO as this was probably knit 4-5 years ago. All it needs are the handles, the bottom sewn up, and to be felted. All in all, probably just another couple of hours of effort. But I am now longer into felting, making knit bags, or novelty yarn. But what do you do with a big old green wool tube with novelty yarn accents?
none

My So Called Scarf Chances of being completed: 90%
This is a young little UFO as I cast on just a few months ago. It’s Manos del Uruguay yarn in the Wildflowers colorway, which I think is quite pretty. I love the stitch pattern, the yarn, and I know I’ll use the finished object. (The pattern is free from Sheep in the City.) This is my knit night project for now as it’s simple enough to do while chatting and very portable. The only issue I have with this thing is that the yarn is so loosely twisted that I have a feeling this scarf will have more pills than a hospital. But for a few wearings it’ll be gorgeous!
none

More UFOs tomorrow (I know! The anticipation is just thrilling, isn’t it?)

Entry filed under: Crafty, Knitting/Crochet. Tags: .

Warm and chic…my neck is happy UFOs on Parade

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lola  |  January 15, 2008 at 9:26 pm

    I’m not alone! I have HUGE ufo guilt. Maybe someone could start up a UFO swap! (My guilt would become someone elses!)

    Reply
  • 2. Amy  |  January 15, 2008 at 11:18 pm

    Man, I think we are all on the same page with the whole digging up UFOs. I’m also going through and digging up mine so I can try to finish them before moving (hahahahahaha…like that’s going to happen).

    We should have a UFO finishing party. Maybe that will motivate us all. Hmmm…

    Reply
  • 3. Toni  |  January 16, 2008 at 6:06 pm

    I’m not a knitter – but I LOVE the idea of switching unfinished items (even if they aren’t yarn based). I have a dress that I cut for myself 2 sizes ago – and multiple pairs of pants that my children are too big for. I’ve also got about 3 stained glass projects that are about a year old. And definitely could find a couple other UFOs to trade!!

    Reply
  • 4. andi  |  January 16, 2008 at 11:56 pm

    I love that idea! or at least a UFO-along. If we work together, we can finish anything!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Random thoughts about random things

foofanagle at gmail dot com

Archives


