UFOs on Parade

January 16, 2008 at 6:38 am 5 comments

The UFO Parade continues! Did you know that there are knitters out there that start a project and finish it before they cast on for a new one? Yeah, I know it sounds unbelievable…but I hear it’s done. I wonder what that would be like…

Diamond Scarf Chances of being completed: 0%
A little diamond lace scarf from an orphan ball of Koigu. I obviously never really got this one off the ground. I still LOVE (of course) the yarn. But the pattern no longer calls to me. The fact that this isn’t very far along makes it a prime frogging candidate.
none

Green River Sock Chances of being completed: 10%
Some people worry about SSS (Second Sock Syndrome). I worry about FSS (FIRST Sock Syndrome). This sock was cast on…oh…probably 2-3 years ago. I basically got bored 80% down the foot so I stopped. I’d finish it off if I thought I’d make the second sock – but let’s face it – that’s unlikely. However, this IS the sock that triggered my affection for toe-up socks.
none

Shell Wrap Chances of being completed: 35%
Pink Cashmerino. Soft shell pattern shoulder wrap from Wrap Style. It’s a lovely project and theoretically it should be done and on my shoulders now. But I messed up on a row, put it down for too long, and now I’m really debating on this one. I think I’d love it when it’s finished…but the new project glow has worn off. none

Two more days of UFO love and then…actual FINISHED objects (yes, I DO finish my knits…once in awhile.)

Entry filed under: Crafty, Knitting/Crochet. Tags: .

Coming clean for a fresh start We interrupt the UFO parade…

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Beth  |  January 16, 2008 at 3:31 pm

    Forget finishing them…they all look lovely coming off the needles. Perhaps a UFO display around the house, then you’ll never need to finish!😉

    Reply
  • 2. nicolette  |  January 16, 2008 at 7:06 pm

    It looks all so wonderful! I’m with you on the unfinished projects. Lots of bags with knitted pieces of sweaters, scarfs and other stuff. When I understand a pattern I need a new one that challenges me. Hope to see your finished projects. One day!

    Reply
  • 3. nancy  |  January 16, 2008 at 11:59 pm

    Ooh – that Koigu is lovely. I have a perfect project for just one skein of Koigu. I’m sure if you brought that yarn to knitting tonite it would not need to go back home with you🙂

    Reply
  • 4. andi  |  January 17, 2008 at 12:00 am

    where did you get the diamond scarf pattern? that’s just the sort of thing I have been looking for — something a little more challenging than the stockinette stitch that I think I’ve finally mastered, but not a massively complex lacey thing either….

    Reply
  • 5. amy jo  |  July 17, 2008 at 5:34 pm

    Your UFO display is hysterical. I have an overflowing basket labeled UFO’s quilts. I’m not much of a knitter or crotcher, so there is a separate basket full of those too. I love how you estimated the chance of finishing each project. Made me SMILE!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Random thoughts about random things

foofanagle at gmail dot com

Archives


