Kool

January 25, 2008 at 8:01 am 4 comments

The Koolhaas hat…nothing cooler. I have sewing news to share…but I have the picture of the hat now. So hence, another knitting post.

none

Besides being one of my favorite bloggers, Jarrod is now one of my favorite designers. Between Cobblestone and Koolhaas, how could you not love his patterns?

Considering that this hat elevated Cascade 220 from an everyday workhorse yarn to something (I think is) elegant and architectural speaks to how wonderful this pattern is. The cable repeat is quite easy to memorize and the decreases at the top (while maintaining the stitch pattern) is brilliantly planned. I did use a cable needle as I have never mastered cabling without one. But once you get into a rhythm it goes relatively quickly.

Koolhaas was originally published in the Interweave Knits 2007 Holiday Special Issue. But now Interweave has started project-by-project downloads. So you can buy Koolhaas on its own if you’d like.

Entry filed under: Crafty, Knitting/Crochet. Tags: .

Just as I was gearing up… Enabler

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. peacockchic  |  January 25, 2008 at 5:08 pm

    you are right about the Koolhaas bringing out the inner super model of Cascade 220. Your hat really does the pattern and the yarn justice. Love the color. Can’t wait to see the sewing too!

    Reply
  • 2. Lynn  |  January 25, 2008 at 5:41 pm

    That looks fantastic. I’ve been thinking about knitting this had, and now that it’s available for a project by project download, it looks like I have no excuse!

    Reply
  • 3. Diana  |  January 25, 2008 at 6:06 pm

    Nice! I just ordered it and printed it out. Maybe it will be my next project.

    Reply
  • 4. Alice  |  January 27, 2008 at 4:21 am

    It looks great in Cascade! When I first saw it it looked a bit heathered. I love it!

    I really need to get in on the Koolhaas trend… I haven’t seen one knit up that I don’t like!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Random thoughts about random things

foofanagle at gmail dot com

Archives


