Enabler

January 31, 2008 at 11:36 am 11 comments

Although my husband frequently marvels at my ability to stash up on craft supplies with no immediate use planned…he is almost always very supportive of my hobbies. And in some instances, he’s the worst kind of enabler.

Take for example the story of my “broken” Pfaff Quilt Expression 2048. After taking it into the shop to be looked at (and finding out I was just threading it wrong – seriously, after a year all of a sudden I randomly started threading it wrong!) I was all set to leave. I don’t know what was happening while I was with the repair person…but the next thing I know the store owner and my husband are showing me sewing/embroidery machines. And my husband is asking me “do you want it?” And when I give a “meh” response (because even though of COURSE I want it…it’s pricey and not immediately needed) he pushes again…”are you sure you don’t want it?” And again in the car, “if you want it, let’s get it.” I mean under that kind of barrage what crafty gal could resist. So we turned around, went back in (much to the owners delight), came home with this:

none

That’s a Pfaff 2140. We got a nice break on the price since it’s used. But it has a 3 year warranty and they upgraded the software to the 2170 set. It in amazing condition and it came with the standard hoops and the special “grand hoop” too.

I’ve never had an embroidery machine before. I’m really not sure what to do with it! My husband wants me to embroidery his company logo on his work shirts (all 3 of ’em)…but after that…? I mean, no offense intended to anyone out there, but I’m not really an embroidered cabbage roses on a t-shirt kind of girl.

none
My babies side-by-side. Isn’t it cute that one is pink and one is blue? (Hey – I’m easily amused.)

Of course, the other feature of the 2140 I love is that it has a knee-lever to raise the presser foot. I love this feature and it may make this my everyday machine with the 2048 being my backup and quilting machine. Seriously, just having to twitch my knee to raise the presser foot? Awesome.

Two sewing machines! One embroiders! What’s a girl to do? Oh yeah…

none

Entry filed under: Crafty, Sewing. Tags: .

Kool The lost knitting post

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. peacockchic  |  January 31, 2008 at 11:19 pm

    wow, congrats on the new addition. Are you going to have a baby shower to rack up the fabrics and notions :O)

    I am lovin the Sophia bag too and will be making it soon. Have fun with it!

    Reply
  • 2. Stephanie  |  January 31, 2008 at 11:45 pm

    Woo-hoo! Congrats on the newest member of the family.

    Reply
  • 3. Tina  |  February 1, 2008 at 1:36 am

    I’m jealous. I wish someone wanted to by me my PFAFF. I forked over a fortune (well not that much). PFAFFs are well worth the price. I love love mine.

    Reply
  • 4. Colleen  |  February 1, 2008 at 2:15 am

    I want one that embroiders – think baby gifts, shower and wedding gifts… You lucky girl you! Enjoy!!!!

    Reply
  • 5. Thimbleanna  |  February 1, 2008 at 5:10 am

    Congratulations! I’m not a cabbage roses kind of person either, but I love my machine for doing all sorts of things with letters — from sayings to monograms. And the occasional design, especially as others have mentioned for baby gifts. Hope you enjoy it!

    Reply
  • 6. kelly  |  February 1, 2008 at 5:21 am

    wow, congratulations! such a very lucky girl! -kb

    Reply
  • 7. Janey  |  February 1, 2008 at 4:28 pm

    Congrats, wow hubby’s a keeper!! I have an embroidery machine and it comes in handy from time to time. I love it for kids birthday gifts I usually put there names on something either store bought or something I’ve made. Have fun playing.

    Reply
  • 8. Lynn  |  February 2, 2008 at 6:06 pm

    Oh wow! Congratulations!! They do look very cute next to each other…

    Reply
  • 9. Outi  |  February 8, 2008 at 6:15 pm

    Lois Ericson at http://designandsew.com has a fab modern embroidery
    CD.Very sophisticated and non-cabbagerosy.

    Reply
  • 10. Alice  |  February 11, 2008 at 5:15 am

    Wow, how exciting! What a great husband you have🙂

    I’ve been eying that bag pattern for awhile though I am really intimidated by Amy Butler’s patterns. I’ve read through the few I have and I just end up thinking, “so many steps…”

    I really can’t wait to see how yours turns out though! The fabrics you chose are fan-tas-tic!

    Reply
  • 11. thedomesticdiva  |  February 13, 2008 at 10:22 am

    you lucky duck! My DH is the same way–gotta love a guy who lets you indulge in your hobbies!

    No cabbage roses here, but I find lots of uses for my embroidery machines…especially if you have the customizing software….think Applique, monograms, etc.

    Happy Sewing!

    With friendship,
    Lisa

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Random thoughts about random things

foofanagle at gmail dot com

Archives


