Stacks of joy

March 2, 2008 at 1:02 pm 11 comments

I’m sick. I hate being sick. Especially when I’m so sick I don’t have the energy to craft. It’s like…I finally have some free time but I’m too sick to DO anything. Gah!

So to fulfill my urge to craft, I garnered the energy to refold my latest stash acquisitions (which had previously been stacking up in random areas of my craft room floor). For your viewing pleasure (and I know y’all out there totally understand the beauty of this) I present approximately 2 months worth of fabric stashing. The little stack on top are just fat quarters. The three big stacks on the bottom are mixes of 1 and 2 yard cuts. (You can click on the pic for a larger view – cuz that much gorgeous fabric needs to be seen as big as possible, n’est ce pas?)

none

For the record, this doesn’t include two quilt kits (and backing) that I picked up. Hmmm…those yards of heavy weight and home dec fabric didn’t make it into the picture either. Oops.

There are people out there who only buy supplies when they have a project in mind. They buy just what they need/want for that project and walk away happy in the knowledge that their precious fabric has purpose. I am not that kind of person. I’m schizophrenic when I shop for fabric. Hmmm…pinks and greens…I want to do a pink and green quilt someday. Oh! I like brown today. Wait, the new Joel Dewberry?! Mine! I rarely have a plan when I go into a fabric store, I grab bolts impulsively, and rarely do the things I walk out with have any reason between them.

But for those of you who pooh-pooh scatter-shot aimless stashing…I present a selection from the above piles. These are from eBay and 2 local shops.

none

Are you seeing the magic I’m seeing? Stashing RULES.

Entry filed under: Crafty, Sewing, Stash.

The lost knitting post Avoidance sewing

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Rachel  |  March 2, 2008 at 9:43 pm

    I love the fabric. It looks so inspiring. It makes me think Spring is just around the corner. I’d love to see whatever you make from that nice pile above. I’m a pretty big fan of green. So I’m sure it will be lovely.

    Reply
  • 2. thedomesticdiva  |  March 2, 2008 at 11:52 pm

    I shop just like you…LOL!

    Great picks!

    Feel better soon.

    With friendship,
    Lisa

    Reply
  • 3. blueflowertreasures  |  March 3, 2008 at 12:14 am

    I’m another stasher. 🙂 In fact, I have many of the same fabrics in my stash that you have in yours. I look forward to seeing what you make from that lovely stack of greens…my favorite color.
    Hope you feel better soon, too!
    ~Rebecka

    Reply
  • 4. Irene  |  March 3, 2008 at 12:42 am

    I tell myself that I’m not a stash-er and that I can’t afford to buy fabric just because it’s beautiful, but everyone knows that’s not true. My closet is so full, I can’t fit another yard- well, maybe just one more…

    Reply
  • 5. Wendy  |  March 3, 2008 at 6:46 pm

    Very nice work! I’m stasher as well, I like to call it being prepared……and you really can’t have too much green.
    HOpe you feel better soon –

    Reply
  • 6. lucy  |  March 3, 2008 at 11:10 pm

    Amazing stash. I can see why you are so prepared for any crafting project!

    Reply
  • 7. Tara  |  March 10, 2008 at 1:05 am

    I have serous amounts of fabric. Some are for the biz, and some are just for me.

    I am dying to know what the green with brown and white is (3rd from the bottom). I find out if we are having a boy or girl on Tuesday. Either way, the room with have green and brown in it. I’m going to accent with blue or pink. So, that one really caught my eye.

    Beautiful stash, BTW!

    Reply
  • 8. Sewdelish  |  March 21, 2008 at 5:40 am

    Your fabric stash is gorgeous! I love to look at fabric!

    Reply
  • 9. celia  |  April 16, 2008 at 7:41 pm

    God!
    I love your fabric’s stack!
    The colors are amazingly fresh and warm!!!; lol…
    Love it! It is a pleasure to come to your blog!

    Reply
  • 10. Charity  |  May 7, 2008 at 5:23 am

    That is sooooo gorgeous! All those colors and patterns together. Just makes you glad to be alive, huh? 🙂

    Charity

    Reply
  • 11. Selina  |  November 1, 2008 at 9:13 pm

    I’d love to know what the seventh fabric up in the middle stack is (with the burgundy) if you have any idea please?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Random thoughts about random things

foofanagle at gmail dot com

Archives


