What does it mean when you’re sick for 8 weeks?

May 6, 2008 at 2:35 pm 31 comments

Well, in my case, it does NOT mean I have some weird bacterial infection or new strain of mono. (Which really, I was starting to wonder…) It means I’m 9 weeks pregnant and didn’t have a clue. It means a growing little embryo is the reason I’ve been falling asleep at 8pm and have been too exhausted and nauseous to knit, sew, or even post a one lousy blog post. So thank you all for sticking with me and putting up with my prolonged absences of late.

I have just jumped the line into my 2nd trimester and things are going well. The nausea is FINALLY started to ebb (thank goodness) and my first maternity pants have been purchased (I don’t know if I’ll go back to regular pants EVER they’re so comfy.) And I have high hopes that life can return to normal (as much as that’s possible) soon.

Usually this is where people place a scan of their ultrasound, but if you’re like me, they just look like grainy blobs to you. So I’ll spare you our first pictures of the little speck.

We are, of course, thrilled. But to be honest, I’m just as terrified as I am excited. I’m sure that’s normal…but really – when you get an ultrasound and the little thing in there MOVES – it’s really surreal!

I promise not to turn this into a baby blog…but as this has taken up a LOT Of my life lately, some preggy posts will be unavoidable. Hopefully my crafting will pick up as well to compensate.πŸ™‚

Entry filed under: The Speck. Tags: .

At long last, the Knit Fix winner… Luscious aggravation

31 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Swankette  |  May 6, 2008 at 3:28 pm

    Congratulations!

    Just think of all the cute little things you can knit/craft/sew for the little one – that’s a full blog on it’s own!

    Reply
  • 2. Abigail  |  May 6, 2008 at 3:35 pm

    Congratulations!!!!!!! πŸ™‚

    Reply
  • 3. Diana  |  May 6, 2008 at 4:22 pm

    OMG! I am so happy for you!

    Reply
  • 4. Amy  |  May 6, 2008 at 4:49 pm

    Congratulations!

    Reply
  • 5. Kim  |  May 6, 2008 at 5:45 pm

    Congratulations!!!!

    Reply
  • 6. Tina  |  May 6, 2008 at 6:06 pm

    Congratulations!

    Reply
  • 7. Janell  |  May 6, 2008 at 7:18 pm

    I’m so excited for you! Hooray! I was about 10 weeks along when I found out I was pregnant too. I just didn’t know it.

    I can’t wait to see the baby knits.

    Reply
  • 8. andi  |  May 6, 2008 at 7:51 pm

    congratulations! very glad to hear it’s not mono…

    Reply
  • 9. Sara  |  May 6, 2008 at 9:44 pm

    Congrats! Hope the morning sickness subsides.

    Reply
  • 10. Alice  |  May 6, 2008 at 9:44 pm

    Wow, congrats! How excitingπŸ™‚

    Reply
  • 11. l3ahkn1ts  |  May 6, 2008 at 10:13 pm

    you’ll never have to buy baby clothes! you have a whole team of gals to do that for you now, lol.

    Reply
  • 12. claudine  |  May 7, 2008 at 2:51 am

    Congratulations!! Very exciting. Hope everyone stays well!

    Reply
  • 13. Carrie  |  May 7, 2008 at 3:09 am

    Congrats! Dont’ feel bad – I didn’t figure it out until 11 weeksπŸ™‚

    Reply
  • 14. Jessica  |  May 7, 2008 at 3:44 am

    Congratulations.

    Reply
  • 15. Amy  |  May 7, 2008 at 10:38 am

    OMG CONGRATS!!! That’s so exciting for you!πŸ™‚

    Reply
  • 16. Jamie  |  May 7, 2008 at 12:23 pm

    Congratulations! What a great excuse to be creative. I still have a pair of preggo pants that I wear occasionally, they are just so comfortable and I can’t give them up, and my daughter is now almost 7 months old!

    Reply
  • 17. Heather Grow  |  May 7, 2008 at 4:04 pm

    Congratulations.

    Reply
  • 18. Jenna  |  May 7, 2008 at 6:44 pm

    Woot! Here’s to a great reason to request midnight icecream runs.

    Congratulations – this is gonna be one blessed little bundle.

    Reply
  • 19. Sue  |  May 7, 2008 at 10:58 pm

    Aw, what happy, happy news!

    Reply
  • 20. Sarah  |  May 9, 2008 at 1:36 am

    Congratulations! I agree, the early ultrasounds do look like grainy blobs, but I’m sure yours is a really *cute* grainy blob!πŸ™‚

    Reply
  • 21. susan  |  May 9, 2008 at 9:55 am

    Oh, how exciting and happy! Congratulations. And +1 on theopinion of fun crafting. πŸ™‚

    Reply
  • 22. Kim  |  May 10, 2008 at 2:24 am

    Congratulations from a longtime lurker.

    Reply
  • 23. Missy  |  May 11, 2008 at 1:58 am

    Congratulations and Happy Mother’s Day!
    Missy

    Reply
  • 24. thedomesticdiva  |  May 12, 2008 at 9:54 am

    Congrats!!!

    With friendship,
    Lisa

    Reply
  • 25. fiona  |  May 18, 2008 at 12:36 am

    what great news! congrats

    Reply
  • 26. Jackie  |  May 18, 2008 at 2:40 pm

    Well congratulations – I only came by to tell you I had belatedly made your bagsket – took me nearly as long as having a baby you may think! No I only found the instructions last week. I have put a link on my blog. Thanks and best wishes.
    Jackie

    Reply
  • 27. Kristi  |  May 21, 2008 at 1:45 am

    Congratulations! I didn’t find out I was preggers until my friend forced me to pee on a stick to shut her up. How embarrassing to be sitting there on bathroom floor, stunned, while my buddy’s first words were, “I told you so. Couldn’t you at least have flushed the toilet?” Ah, a quote for the baby book. Three years, three kids later and I still haven’t started the baby book… Blessings and best wishes to you and yours.

    Reply
  • 28. Lori  |  May 22, 2008 at 7:27 pm

    It WILL be tempting to turn your blog into a baby blog. I’m lucky because I started mine out being a baby blog. You can always do two!πŸ™‚

    Congrats. I’m so happy for you! And I’m glad your 1st trimester ickies are almost done!

    Reply
  • 29. lavon  |  June 2, 2008 at 8:11 pm

    Congrats!

    Reply
  • 30. Lil' d  |  June 22, 2008 at 5:06 pm

    Congratulations!

    Reply
  • 31. Nordi  |  July 30, 2008 at 7:22 pm

    When are you due, ooh this is exciting! There is truly something in the water at ZAAZ for us!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Random thoughts about random things

foofanagle at gmail dot com

Archives


