Oopsie Daisy

August 14, 2008 at 2:18 pm 4 comments

I’ve decided not to feel guilty about the cadence of my blogging lately. I’m growing a baby in my belly and I’m working a ton – between the two, it’s not leaving a lot of time for fun! This is the last week of my 2nd trimester and I’m feeling pretty good overall. I did just fail my 1-hour glucose test though…so I have to take the 3-hour test for gestational diabetes. Ugh. Keep your fingers crossed that I don’t have GD…I love my carbs too much!!! (Which is probably a hint on why I might be susceptible to GD – I know, I know – karma.)

But between the crib shopping and crazy clients I am squeezing in a wee bit of crafting. Of course, it’s baby-related.

The Upside-Down Daisy Hate from Itty Bitty Hats by Susan B Anderson.
none

This book is so much fun! And since we’re due in the Winter, it’s safe to assume we’ll need lots of head coverings. I have to admit, knitting for a little girl is really fun. Sure, a boy could have an Upside-down daisy on his head, but it just wouldn’t have the same cache, would it?
none

To keep it soft for baby’s sweet skin, I knit it up in Debbie Bliss Cashmerino. It’s snuggly soft and so warm. It’s a super quick knit (as all baby items tend to be) as you just knit a basic little cap (switching colors when you reach the I-cord at the top) and knit the petals separately and sew them on.

The only thing I’m vaguely worried about is whether the rolled brim will make it uncomfortable for the baby to wear the hat while lying down. Does anyone have any thoughts on this? Will the extra little bulk there be annoying for the baby’s head?

Entry filed under: Crafty, Knitting/Crochet, The Speck.

Plotz-worthy cuteness One Yard Wonders – Get on it!

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Amy  |  August 14, 2008 at 7:25 pm

    I would think that the extra little roll will be A-OK, Don’t give it a second thought. I love this little pattern! Too too cute! BTW- lucky you at the end of your 2nd trimester! I have just started in mine and am more than ready to be done!

    Reply
  • 2. Kristi  |  August 17, 2008 at 9:17 pm

    No worries about the roll. This will probably not be a hat you will leave on the baby if you lie her down- the hat will stay in one place while your wee one moves her noggin and all of a sudden its over her eyes. (Always freaked me out a bit with my first) But if she’s out and about or with you in a sling or stroller I don’t think it will be a problem at all. It’s gorgeous-wish I could knit.

    Reply
  • 3. kate  |  September 21, 2008 at 6:33 pm

    Gorgeous hat!
    I really dont think the brim will be a problem, i would think it will rest around the top of her neck rather than the middle of her head so when she lays down it will not touch the matress at all.
    Good luck with the rest of your pregnancy
    xxx

    Reply
  • 4. Quick Links Sunday | Craft & Found  |  October 5, 2008 at 4:15 pm

    […] Upside Down Daisy Hat (Foofanagle) […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Random thoughts about random things

foofanagle at gmail dot com

Archives


