More about crepe and flowers

February 17, 2009 at 9:15 pm 8 comments

This is probably more than any of you want to know…but I’m in a rambling kind of mood.

A few people have asked where to find 2-ply crepe paper. To be honest, that’s partly why I wrote up the rose tutorial. I’m hoping more people pick up crafting with crepe paper so that crepe is easier to get a hold of.

As mentioned before, 2-ply paper is really hard to find. Martha Stewart Crafts sold pre-packed 2-ply crepe for a short while in season-themed color packs at Michael’s craft store. But it appears to have been discontinued. (Darn it!) Kim’s Crane store sells some double-sided crepe but has (at last check) a pretty limited color range. I’ve heard FlaxArt sells 2-ply crepe too. I don’t think they have an online store, so you’d have to call for an order.

It’s pretty easy to make your own 2-ply crepe and you can have a lot of fun mixing and matching front and back colors. So I suggest you just go for that. See the “notes” of my crepe paper rose tutorial for quick instructions.

Crepe paper is sold in “folds” and can be most easily found at your local party supply store. It is essentially wrinkled tissue paper. And of course it’s the wrinkles that enable you to shape the paper and have the shaping hold. The beauty of this craft is that it’s inexpensive. You can find crepe folds for $1.00-$1.50 usually.

Dennison and Canson are two of the oldest brands you can find. A lot of vintage paper you’ll find are one of those two brands. In fact, Dennison is the manufacturer that created most of the instructions on crepe flowers (and crepe costumes!) all the way back to the 20’s. Dennison seems to have morphed into Dennefold today. Any paper under those three brands should work fine.

I hate to be negative, but I would say beware the Cindus brand of paper. I’m not sure why it is, but there paper is uncomfortably stiff and less crinkly than others. I’ve found Cindus does not make good paper flowers.

Of course the internet should be a good source. But do your own Googling and you’ll quickly find that it’s not that easy! Crepe paper just doesn’t seem like a hot commodity. I found THIS STORE that has a TON of colors and at a good price. I have NOT ordered from them yet so I can’t vouch for the product. But it’s the most promising online resource for crepe that I’ve found.

If you want to learn how to make a ton of crepe flowers and you don’t want to spend a lot of time crawling the web then you should pick up THIS BOOK. It’s a reprint of some of the original Dennison instructions. The photos stink and it’s just from a reprinter, but it’s better than nothing.
none

Your next best shot is finding some of the original Dennison books on eBay or in your local used book store. I have a neat little collection of those and that’s where I’m pulling my info from for my tutorials. The BEST books are the Crepe Paper Flower Making 3 book series from the Dennison-craft Home Course set. It was copyrighted in 1926 and I’m lucky enough to have all three books. There are instructions for dozens of flowers from the Azaelea to the Zinnia and a ton of flowers in between.

Dennison went on to publish a number of little books/pamphlets for flower making, but they have a varying number of patterns in them. Moreover, some of the pamphlets don’t even have the templates in them. So if you by on eBay make sure you really know what you’re getting. Make sure the listing info tells you the condition of the book and whether or not the template sheets are included and intact.
none

And every once in awhile Martha Stewart does a little article on crepe flowers. The best one was in the Spring 2001 Wedding special. It was a multi-page layout with great photos and she gave templates for a number of different flowers.

Phew! I hope this info is helpful to some of you. I’ve spent a lot of time (and $$$) over the past years figuring out some of this stuff so, if nothing else, I hope I saved you some time.

Entry filed under: Crafty, Paper Crafts. Tags: .

::Crepe Paper Roses:: Heather Ross, Fabric Shopping, Google, and 15 minutes…

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. cropandscrapdesigner  |  February 17, 2009 at 10:20 pm

    Great Info. Thanks for sharing!

    Ruth Petty

    Reply
  • 2. Helen Brooke  |  March 21, 2009 at 10:00 am

    Hello!
    I just happened across your site today when I found your great tut on making the rose. You did a wonderful job with this! However, I’m writing to let you know that I have a great source for the old fashioned, top quality Crepe Paper that I see you’ve been looking for. You can find it at a company called D. Blumchen & Company, website, http://www.blumchen.com – The crepe paper is in their Crafting Supplies Shop. They even have stamens and pips for flowers in their Vintage Florals Shop. This company is often recommended by Martha Stewart and her craft department purchases quite a bit from them. I know you’ll find their store very interesting with all they have to offer. I hope this helps. Now that I’ve found you site I’ll check back from time to time.
    Best wishes, Helen

    Reply
  • 3. Rhonda  |  March 29, 2009 at 11:46 pm

    Thank you for the tutes! I actually have LOTS of crepe flower books – and can find crepe paper quite easily – seems that Japan is still in the 50s :o) Unfortunately we leave here in May – but I’ll be sure to stock up – and maybe with your instructions in English and my patterns in Japanese I can make awesome things for our new home!🙂 Thanks again!

    Reply
  • 4. Bev  |  January 21, 2010 at 4:09 pm

    Thanks heaps for the much valued rambling! :o) Crepe is far rarer than hens teeth in Western Australia, you’re knowledge and experience has certainly helped me a great deal.
    Great work, thanks again :oD

    Reply
  • 5. Connie  |  May 1, 2010 at 4:13 am

    Thanks for the info on the crepe paper. I have been looking for some Dennison crepe paper made like it was back in the early days (50-60s) My mother used to make crepe paper flowers and I want to learn how but the crepe paper you buy now is more crinkled and less stretchy than what we used to buy. If anyone knows where I can get the original crepe paper please give me the info. Thanks. Thanks lots for giving us this info. Connie

    Reply
  • 6. Hemorrhoid Treatment :  |  October 29, 2010 at 4:59 pm

    our party supplies last year were so many that it could last a year**;

    Reply
  • 7. asha  |  January 24, 2012 at 7:45 pm

    very nice

    Reply
  • 8. eddie  |  October 5, 2015 at 10:04 pm

    I have the 3 book course series, but, I’m missing 4 pages of book 3…. pages 23, 24, 25, 26. I would love to have those pages to complete my books. I would be do grateful if you could send me copies. I Will gladly pay.

    Thank you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Random thoughts about random things

foofanagle at gmail dot com

Archives


